Skip to main content

Digital Mapping: Books & Journals

An introductory guide offering resources for projects involving digital mapping and geospatial technologies.

Finding Materials

Here you'll find categories for different books and journals relevant to digital mapping. These books offer an entry point into both the theoretical and practical elements of maps and geospatial technologies.

To search for these books and other materials, please consult InfoKat Discovery. InfoKat Discovery provides keyword, title, author, and subject searching of the University of Kentucky's nine libraries' holdings, including books, journals, journal articles, and other resources.

If you would like to recommend a book for the library to acquire, please complete this form.

Books - Cartographic Philosophies & Histories

Rethinking the Power of Maps

A follow-up to the groundbreaking Power of Maps, this book takes a fresh look at what maps do, whose interests they serve, and how they can be used in surprising, creative, and radical ways. Thought-provoking illustrations include U.S. Geological Survey maps; electoral and transportation maps; and numerous examples of critical cartography, participatory GIS, and map art. The book will be important reading for geographers and others interested in maps and their political uses.

Call Number: GA105.3 .W665 2010
Location: Young Library - 4th Floor
ISBN: 9781593853662

From Squaw Tit to Whorehouse Meadow

In the early twentieth century, it was common for towns and geographical features to have salacious, bawdy, and even derogatory names. In the age before political correctness, mapmakers readily accepted any local preference for place names, prizing accurate representation over standards of decorum.

From Squaw Tit to Whorehouse Meadow probes this little-known chapter in American cartographic history by considering the intersecting efforts to computerize mapmaking, standardize geographic names, and respond to public concern over ethnically offensive appellations. Interweaving cartographic history with tales of politics and power, celebrated geographer Mark Monmonier locates his story within the past and present struggles of mapmakers to create an orderly process for naming that avoids confusion, preserves history, and serves different political aims.

Call Number: G105 .M66 2006
ISBN: 0226534650

Mapping: A Critical Introduction

An introduction to the critical issues surrounding mapping and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) across a wide range of disciplines for the non-specialist reader. Examines the key influences GIS and cartography have on the study of geography and other related disciplines. Provides an explanation of what this new critical cartography is, why it is important, and how it is relevant to a broad, interdisciplinary set of readers. Presents theoretical discussion supplemented with real-world case studies. Brings together both a technical understanding of GIS and mapping as well as sensitivity to the importance of theory

Call Number: GA102.4.E4 C73 2010
ISBN: 9781405121736

How to Lie with Maps

This lively, cleverly illustrated book on the use and abuse of maps teaches us how to evaluate maps critically and promotes a healthy skepticism about these easy-to-manipulate models of reality. To show how maps distort, Monmonier introduces basic principles of mapmaking, gives entertaining examples of the misuse of maps in situations from zoning disputes to census reports, and covers all the typical kinds of distortions from deliberate oversimplifications to the misleading use of color.

Call Number: GA108.7.M66 1991
ISBN: 9780226534213

Cartographic Grounds

Mapping has been one of the most fertile areas of exploration for architecture and landscape in the past few decades. While documenting this shift in representation from the material and physical description toward the depiction of the unseen and often immaterial, Cartographic Grounds takes a critical view toward the current use of data mapping and visualization and calls for a return to traditional cartographic techniques to reimagine the manifestation and manipulation of the ground itself.

Call Number: GA102.3 .C368 2016

ISBN: 9781616893293 

A History of Spaces

This book provides an essential insight into the practices and ideas of maps and map-making. It draws on a wide range of social theorists, and theorists of maps and cartography, to show how maps and map-making have shaped the spaces in which we live. Going beyond the focus of traditional cartography, the book draws on examples of the use of maps from the sixteenth century to the present, including their role in projects of the national and colonial state, emergent capitalism and the planetary consciousness of the natural sciences. 

Call Number: GA105.3 .P52 2004
ISBN: 0415144981

Qualitative GIS

Qualitative GIS explains the recent integration of qualitative research with GIS. With a detailed contextualizing introduction, the text is organized into three sections: Representation: examines how researchers are using GIS to create new types of representations; working with spatial data, maps, and other visualizations to incorporate multiple meanings and to provide texture and context. Analysis: discusses the new techniques of analysis that are emerging at the margins between qualitative research and GIS, this in the wider context of a critical review of mixed-methods in geographical research Theory: questions how knowledge is produced, showing how ideas of 'science' and 'truth' inform research, and demonstrates how qualitative GIS can be used to interrogate discussions of power, community, and social action

Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1412945666

Books - Guides for Making Maps

Getting to Know ArcGIS

Getting to Know ArcGIS, fourth edition, is a comprehensive introduction to the features and tools of ArcGIS for Desktop. Through hands-on exercises, readers will discover, use, make, and share maps with meaningful content. The fourth edition includes new exercises on map sharing and georeferencing, new datasets and scenarios, and an introduction to ArcGIS Pro, a powerful new part of ArcGIS for Desktop.

QGIS by Example

If you are a beginner or an intermediate GIS user, this book is for you. It is ideal for practitioners, data analysts, and application developers who have very little or no familiarity with geospatial data and software.

ISBN: 9781782174677

Mastering QGIS

If you are a GIS professional, a consultant, a student, or perhaps a fast learner who wants to go beyond the basics of QGIS, then this book is for you. It will prepare you to realize the full potential of QGIS.

Making Maps, Second Edition

Acclaimed for its innovative use of visual material, this book is engaging, clear, and compelling--exactly how an effective map should be. Nearly every page is organized around maps and other figures (many in full color) that illustrate all aspects of map making, including instructive examples of both good and poor design choices. The book covers everything from locating and processing data to making decisions about layout, symbols, color, and type. Readers are invited to think critically about both the technical features and social significance of maps as they learn to create better maps of their own. 

Designing Better Maps

Designing Better Maps: A Guide for GIS Users, second edition, is a comprehensive guide to creating maps that communicate effectively. In Designing Better Maps, renowned cartographer Cynthia A. Brewer guides readers through the basics of good cartography, including layout design, scales, projections, color selection, font choices, and symbol placement. Designing Better Maps also describes the author's ColorBrewer application, an online color selection tool. The second edition includes a new chapter on map publishing.

The GIS 20

The GIS 20: Essential Skills presents step-by-step instructions, illustrations, and practical tips on how to perform the top twenty skills needed to successfully use a geographic information system (GIS). These skills include finding and editing data, querying GIS maps, creating reports, and sharing and publishing your maps.

A to Z GIS

An invaluable resource for anyone who uses or encounters GIS terminology in the classroom, on the job, or in the field, this dictionary contains more than 1,600 terms covering the entire lexicon of geographic information systems. Terms have been selected from GIS operations such as analysis, data management, and geocomputation; from rapidly evolving uses of GIS for modeling, GIScience, and Web-based GIS; and the GIS foundation fields of cartography, spatial statistics, computer science, surveying, geodesy, and remote sensing. Hundreds of subject-matter experts and GIS educators have reviewed the definitions, ensuring the authoritative coverage that is a necessity for managers, programmers, users, and students discovering the interdisciplinary nature of GIS.

Books - Theorizing Data Visualization

Data Visualisation

This book is the starting point in learning the process and skills of data visualization, teaching the concepts and skills of how to present data and inspiring effective visual design. Benefits of this book: A flexible step-by-step journey that equips you to achieve great data visualization. A curated collection of classic and contemporary examples, giving illustrations of good and bad practice. Examples on every page to give creative inspiration Illustrations of good and bad practice show you how to critically evaluate and improve your own work.

Envisioning Information

The most design-oriented of Edward Tufte's books, Envisioning Information shows maps, charts, scientific presentations, diagrams, computer interfaces, statistical graphics and tables, stereo photographs, guidebooks, courtroom exhibits, timetables, use of color, a pop-up, and many other wonderful displays of information. The book provides practical advice about how to explain complex material by visual means, with extraordinary examples to illustrate the fundamental principles of information displays. Topics include escaping flatland, color and information, micro/macro designs, layering and separation, small multiples, and narratives. Winner of 17 awards for design and content.

The Truthful Art

In The Truthful Art, Cairo transforms elementary principles of data and scientific reasoning into tools that you can use in daily life to interpret data sets and extract stories from them. The Truthful Art delves into such topics as: the role infographics and data visualization play in our world, basic principles of data and scientific reasoning that anyone can master, step-by-step processes that will help you evaluate any data visualization, and more.

Visualize This: The FlowingData Guide to Design, Visualization, and Statistics

With this full-color book, data visualization guru and author Nathan Yau uses step-by-step tutorials to show you how to visualize and tell stories with data. He explains how to gather, parse, and format data and then design high quality graphics that help you explore and present patterns, outliers, and relationships. This book offers step-by-step tutorials and practical design tips for creating statistical graphics, geographical maps, and information design to find meaning in the numbers.

Journals

The library has online access to several journals that focus on mapping, GIS, and geospatial technologies. Please make sure to also consult the course catalog to find which journals are available in hardcopy form in Periodicals.