This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Economics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Economics  

Last Updated: Apr 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/econ Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask-a-Librarian

Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.

Ask-a-Librarian

 Recommend a book you'd like to see added to the Libraries' collections.

 

Look for other Research Guides

 

The Economics Research Process

Here are a few books that can be helpful in explaining the economic research process:

Doing Economics:  A Guide to Understanding and Carrying Out Economic Research
By Steven A. Greenlaw
4th Floor

HB74.5 .G734 2006

Research Methodology for Economists:  Philosophy and Practice
By Glenn L. Johnson
4th Floor

HB74.5 .J65 1986

Foundations of Research in Economics:  How Do Economists Do Economics?
Edited by Steven G. Medema and Warren J. Samuels
4th Floor

HB74.5 .F68 1996

Research Methodology in Applied Economics:  Organizing, Planning, and Conducting Economic Research
By Don Ethridge
4th Floor

HB74.5 .E84 1995

2012 Nobel Prize in Economics Awarded

Three  American economists - Eugene F. Fama, Lars Peter Hansen,  and Robert J. Shiller- have been named the recipients of the 2013 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences for their their empirical analysis of asset prices.

If you would like to read more about their work, the library has several resources to offer:

New Economics Resources at UK

New Databases

Two new data sources are now available.  The IMF data, formerly available only in CD-ROM, is now accessible via an online database. 

  • IMF eLibrary Data (International Monetary Fund)
    Provides predefined data reports or "build your own query" reports by country, topic, or data source, as well as queries within both the International Financial Statistics (IFS) and Trade and Investment. Also includes the IMF Data Mapper which allows you to plot, compare, and import data from countries and regions. Data is drawn from:

    •International Financial Statistics – international and domestic finance, with history to 1948.
    •Direction of Trade - value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, with history to 1980.
    •Balance of Payments - international economic transactions data and International Investment Position, with history to 1960.
    •Government Finance Statistics - budgetary and extra-budgetary financial operations data of governments, with history to 1990.
  • Mergent Online (includes description)
    "Economic Data" Tab recently added. Located on the far left side of the page, this tab contains economic time series data collected from primary sources and updated daily with content across hundreds of key economic series in daily, weekly, monthly and quarterly frequencies.
  • Business Source Complete (includes description)
    Business Source Premier has recently been upgraded to Business Source Complete. The interface stays the same, but considerably more content is available, including more economics journals and reports.
  • Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2010
    Searchable facsimile edition of The Economist, published weekly since 1843. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-color images, multiple search indexes, and topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables.
  • Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010
    Searchable run of every item ever printed in the paper through 2006. Special supplements and the FT Magazine are included.
  • EconLit (includes description)
    Now available from EBSCOhost.
 

Economics News

Newspaper Databases:
UK Libraries currently subscribes to the following newspaper databases, all of which contain a great deal of economic news:

Access World News
Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources.  Also includes the section "Access Business News," which includes a current subscription to the Economist, among many other papers.

LexisNexis Academic
Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes a section for "Business News Publications."

Wall Street Journal
Daily newspaper provides coverage of U.S. and International financial and business news. Full-text (with abstracts) from ProQuest.

Internet Resources:
The following sites, freely available on the web, are also helpful sources of economic information:

Newspapers:
New York Times:  Economics

Washington Post:  Economy Watch

Los Angeles Times:  Money and Company

Wall Street Journal - Economy

Blogs:
Greg Mankiw Blog

Truck and Barter

Macroblog

Economics Roundtable

Paul Krugman Blog - New York Times

Business and Economics Liaison

Profile Image
Peter Hesseldenz
Contact Info
W.T. Young Library
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0456
(859) 218-1840
Send Email
 

New Economics Books

Here are a couple of the many new economics books recently added to our collection.

Cover Art
The Economics of Cultural Policy
Call Number: HM621 .T57 2010
Young Library
4th Floor

Cover Art
Beating the Bear: Lessons from the 1929 Crash Applied to Today's World
Call Number: HB3717 1929 .B387 2010
Young Library
4th Floor

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip