Here are the links to your tools for finding books, articles and more.
- WorldCat Local
It's all right here: books and articles and DVDs and more; click "view now" or "Get Text @ UK" for e-access; click "Request item" for pick-up at your library; request items via ILLiad if not held on campus.
- E-Journals Database
Search by journal titles
- ProQuest Databases
Make your own combination of ProQuest databases, or search them all!
Make your own combination of EBSCOhost databases, or search them all!
- ProQuest Education Journals
This is our big great Education database! It replaces EBSCOhost Education Full Text.
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [ProQuest]
- Web of Science
Powerful database, covers all subjects, indexes cited references. Another good source for DOI numbers.
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text
All subjects; full text available for most of the dissertations
All subjects; all full text; all scholary; back to the first volume for each journal covered.
- Academic Search Premier
Huge source for all subjects, all types of articles, scholary and popular.
- Google Scholar (UK)
Use this link to get proxied access to Scholar. For journal full-text, look for the familiar "Get Text @ UK"; otherwise click "Other UK means of access."
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
Very full records: good for exporting to EndNote. Get your DOIs here!
- Business Source Complete
- Opposing Viewpoints
Covering hot topics this tool gives you easy access to articles, statistics, overviews, etc.
- CQ Researcher
Also covers hot topics!
- SPORT Discus
- MedLine (EBSCOhost)
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) with Full Text
- REHABDATA Database
Approaches to searching:
- Your own keywords; use of wildcards and boolean combinations can improve your results. Use this worksheet for thinking up keywords.
- The database's index terms: retrieve results with precision; works well when your keywords might match many synonyms. Look for these terms in the descriptors or subjects field of a full record. Search for these terms in a database's thesaurus or browse for them in a field's index.
- An article's cited references: no need to think up keywords: find the record for a good article then search to find articles that have cited it; find related articles (searches for refs in common). Web of Science is the best database for this.
- Ask other readers: ask your professors, e-mail authors, hang out at conferences.
- Browsing: good old-fashioned technique; related books tend to be shelved together; also through serendipity you might find useful sources.
In your database results, look for the Get Text @ UK button. This button links you to choices of E-Journal access-- if we don't have e-access, then try the link to InfoKat or order a copy using ILLiad. In WorldCat Local you can find article links as well as links to E-Journals and e-books: just click Get Text @ UK. Look for the link in Google Scholar, too (if off-campus set your Scholar preferences to University of Kentucky).
Do you have questions about copyright permission? Fair use of copies? Try the Fair Use Evaluator from the American Library Association. Describe how you will use the copies and it will give you some guidance.
Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.
Recommend a book you'd like to see added to the Libraries' collections.