Library Terms

Admin Sign In 

Engineering Research Guides 

Guides to help you find engineering information for class and reseach projects.
Last update: Nov 13th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/engr  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Getting Started             Print Page
  
 

Engineering Subjects

 Here is a list of all the engineering research guides by subject.  Use  UK Libraries' Research Guides to see a list of all UK Libraries' Research Guides.


Biopharmaceutical Engineering

Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering

Chemical and Materials Engineering

Civil Engineering

Computer Science

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Engineering (General)

Manufacturing Systems Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Mining Engineering

UK Libraries' Research Guides

 

Professional Engineers

Here are some useful links for Professional Engineers or those looking to gain licensure.

National Councils of Examiners for Engineering  and Surveying - Contains information about exams, sample questions and other useful information.

 
 

Basic Tools

Welcome to the Engineering Research Guides!  This is a general guide to help you find information on all areas of engineering.  In the box to the left are links to specific engineering guides by subject.  The tabs above will take you to additional pages of information such as standards, patents or tutorials on using article databases.  Below this box is an intro to Shaver Engineering Library and below that an FAQ. This box contains links to some basic tools. Use the tabs above to navigate around this guide.


E-Journals Database - Search, by publication title, for full-text electronic magazines, newspapers, and research or scholarly journals.

Electronic Resources - Search for articles in books, magazines, and research or scholarly journals using databases.

INFOKAT (Catalog) -  Search here for items owned by UK Libraries.

Shaver Engineering Library Homepage

EndNote for the Sciences - Use to format citations for a bibliography.

 

Engineering Research@UK

Engineering research on the UK Campus starts @ Shaver Engineering Library (SEL), located in the engineering complex on the third floor in F. Paul Anderson Tower (FPAT).  We are open  M-Th 8 AM to Midnight and Fri 8 AM to 4:30. Hours may change for holidays and during academic breaks.

 Research @SEL! Our collection includes a large number of research periodicals in print format, although the majority of our current journals are accessible electronically. As we transition from print to electronic, more of our books are accessible electronically. This includes engineering eBooks from Knovel, Springer, Wiley, and several other publishers.  

Go Beyond Google and learn how to do research from a pro!  This includes searching specialized engineering resources like Compendex, Web of Science, CSA Illumina, the Polymer Library and many, many more.  You can't get to these using Google, so come in and learn how to access and use them. SEL Computer Services includes a small training room with 10 desktop computers loaded with MS Office, IE, FireFox and engineering software.  When not in use for training, it is available for public use. 

Other Services:  Copier/printer - The library has a public copier/printer which accepts UK ID cards.  Money can be used for copies only, not printing. In the center of the library we have eight public use computers for Internet browsing or research. 

 

Study @SEL! Our study spaces are designed for undergraduates, graduate students and individual researchers.  These include group study tables, semi-private carrels (accommodates 4 people) and individual carrels and tables.  We also have a group study room for more private collaborative work.

 

 

Socialize @SEL!  If you are between classes or looking for a comfortable place to relax or meet friends, we have social space outside the training room where you can chat, work on a puzzle, or play chess.  Drop in, grab an easy chair, kick back and chill!  Check out the whiteboard table, too.  

 

I need to find...

Trying to find information these days can be complicated.  Here is a guide to get you started.  If you still need help, contact Sue Smith or call the library at (859) 257-4364.

 I need to find a book on civil engineering... 

 use INFOKAT

            when looking for books, journals, music, videos, government reports, etc.  INFOKAT tells you which library owns an item and where it is located in that library.  Some book records even have tables of contents. Many are available electronically. 

 I'm off campus and I need to get a copy of an article from the Journal of Materials Science...

  …use Find UK Electronic Journals

            …when looking for full-text electronic journal articles.  Many journals are now available electronically as well as in print or simply electronic. This database will take you to the electronic versions. Be sure to search this database by the title of the journal. Remember when you are off-campus, you need to use the Proxy Server to access electronic resources at UK.

  I need to research inclusions in structural steel in bridge construction...

  …use  Databases

            …when looking for journal articles (and sometimes books) on a subject. A database is an online collection of searchable information. Databases generally provide citations and abstracts, but sometimes they also provide or guide you to full-text materials.  Citations provide information about an article or book such as author/s, title of article, title of book (if appropriate) or journal, publication date and place, journal volume and issue, and page information. Most databases also include an abstract or brief summary of the article or book.  Some databases actually provide full-text articles, such as Business Source Premier. In other databases you may have to click on a hyperlink to get to the full-text article. Some, like The Knovel Library database, have full-text interactive books. 

The UK Libraries has more than 300 databases on a variety of subjects, from anthropology to zoology.  Some are focused on individual subjects, like the SPORT DISCUS database. This database indexes international books and journals covering sports, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, coaching, training, officiating, sport law & legislation, and college & university sports – just to name a few subjects!  Other databases, such as Academic Search Premier, are more general in nature with coverage ranging from current events to articles written in trade magazines to scholarly research articles. All are indexed using very specific terminology so it is easier to find articles.

 

Head Librarian, Shaver Engineering Library

Profile ImageSue Smith, MLS
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
355 FPAT
512 Administration Drive
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506
257-7176

Subjects: engineering, patents
Send Email

Graduate Student

Profile ImageWhitney
Contact Info:
355 FPAT
512 Administration Drive
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506
(859) 257-4364
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait