A guide to resources for both community-based and UK-affiliated entrepreneurs.
Commerce Lexington Inc, is a nonprofit public-private economic development partnership representing the Lexington MSA. At Commerce Lexington Inc., everything we do is aimed at helping business owners succeed by equipping them with the tools they need to grow or expand their business.
The KSBDC provides unparalleled consulting and training services that help existing business owners and potential entrepreneurs succeed. Our services include: one-on-one management consultations, training workshops, market research, loan packaging help, assistance with financial projections and information needed to make informed business decisions.
Von Allmen Center for Entrepreneurship
The Von Allmen Center for Entrepreneurship is the nexus for startup companies at the University of Kentucky. Services include market research, commercialization assessment, assistance with business plans and marketing strategies, connections to vetted service providers, and access to federal, state and private funding sources.
This research guide is designed for use by both community-based and UK-affiliated entrepreneurs.
If you are not affiliated with the University of Kentucky (as faculty, staff, or student), you will have to come to one of our campus locations in order to access most of the electronic resources. Community members who are Kentucky residents and over 18 years of age can get a library card and check-out materials.
Models of Opportunity
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-02-16
Models of Opportunity links scholarly research on business models and organizational design to the reality of building entrepreneurial firms. It provides actionable advice based on a deeper understanding of how business models function and change.The insights, tools and cases, provide a fresh perspective on emerging trends in entrepreneurship, organizational change and high-growth firms.
The Startup Owner's Manual
Call Number: HD62.5 .B53 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
This near-encyclopedic guide unlocks the secrets to startup success - walking you, step-by-step, through the tested and proven Customer Development process created by startup expert Steve Blank.
The Lean Startup
Call Number: HD62.5 .R545 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-13
The Lean Startup offers entrepreneurs - in companies of all sizes - a way to test their vision continuously, to adapt and adjust before it's too late. Ries provides a scientific approach to creating and managing successful startups in a age when companies need to innovate more than ever.
Small Business Sourcebook
Call Number: HD2346.U5 S65 2008
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
In this annual two-volume annotated guide, you'll discover more than 27,000 listings of live and print sources of information designed to facilitate the start-up, development and growth of specific small businesses, as well as more than 29,000 similar listings for small business topics.
Call Number: HB615 .B627 2011
Publication Date: 2011-02-15
Exploring Entrepreneurship examines the nature of entrepreneurial activity in the 21st century, and aims to help students develop the skills and knowledge required by commercial and social entrepreneurs.
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Business Law
Call Number: KF390.B84 B34 2003 - Law Library
Publication Date: 2002-07-22
This book contains 17 chapters that follow the progression of a start-up business and anticipate its legal concerns through the stages of growth up to an initial public offering.
W.T. Young Library
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0456
(859) 218-1840Send Email
William T. Young Library
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0456
- Encyclopedia of Small Business (includes description)
Provides entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own businesses, including financing, financial planning, business plan creation, market analysis, sales strategy, and tax planning.
- Small Business Reference Center (includes description)
Offers full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books.
- Business Owner's Toolkit
With an emphasis on problem solving, BizFilings Business Owner's Toolkit offers more than 3,000 pages of free cost-cutting tips, startup advice and business templates to small business owners and entrepreneurs.
- Start Your Own Business: 50 Things You'll Need to Do
The more you know about starting a business, the more power you have to form an organization that develops into a lasting source of income and satisfaction. For help with the beginning stages of operating a business, the checklist on this website is a great place to start.
If you are looking for information on other subjects please take a look at all of the research guides created by our librarians:
Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.
Recommend a book you'd like to see added to the Libraries' collections.