This is the "Home" page of the "GEN 100: Issues in Agriculture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GEN 100: Issues in Agriculture  

Last Updated: Apr 4, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/gen100 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Hello GEN 100 students!

This resource was created to assist you with your GEN 100 assignments as well as provide a basic understanding of finding and using information effectively generally. You will find links for all of the databases I covered in class as well as much more. Please feel free to contact me or any other personnel at the Agricultural Information Center with questions you may have. Good luck this semester!

Databases and Online Resources

Below is a short list of useful databases for this class. For a list of additional databases related to agriculture click here.

  • Academic Search Premier
    Covers a broad range of subjects. Indexes over 8,000 publications; almost 7,000 are scholarly journals (3,900 in direct full-text); full-text available for issues of almost 5,000 publications overall. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Includes an Image Collection.
  • Access World News (NewsBank)
    Full-text of over 600 U.S. newspapers, including the Lexington Herald-Leader (1983 - present) and other Kentucky newspapers. Access World News also covers over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
    Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
  • InfoKat (UK Libraries' Catalog)
    Provides keyword, title, author, and subject searching of the system's 10 libraries' holdings, including books, journals (by title, NOT by article), and other resources.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. Covers local, regional and international newspapers (in English and non-English languages). Includes broadcast transcripts, case law, legal codes, regulations, Shepard's Citations to Supreme Court cases (back to 1789), company financial information, and SEC filings and reports.
  • Web of Science
    Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 scholarly journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. Includes current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900.

 

Ask-a-Librarian

Not finding what you want?  Please contact us via:

Email

Phone: (859) 257-2758

Visit: N24, Agricultural Science Building North

Director of Branch Libraries, Agriculture Liaison, Biology Liaison

Profile Image
Valerie Perry
Contact Info
Agricultural Information Center
N-24 Agricultural Science Center North
Campus 0091
(859) 257-2758
(859) 323-4719 (fax)

Subject Specialties: life sciences, agriculture, biology, IACUC, animal welfare/alternatives
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jason Keinsley
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip