Skip to main content

Information Literacy: Instruction for Your Classes: Online Tools

Information Literacy: what it is, why it is important to you, and how to incorporate information literacy skills into your assignments.

Resources

This page includes an assortment of videos, tutorials, images, etc. that may be useful in your course pages.  Feel free to embed or link to any of these.  Ask Us if you have questions about using these resources.  Contact us also if you have suggestions for a video or animation that you think would be useful!

Online Info Lit Course

Try the 40 minute, self-paced Information Literacy tutorial in Canvas, UK's learning management system.  Anyone affiliated with UK can sign up to take the course:

Online Information Literacy

Instructors may choose to refer students to this course, to supplement library instruction in the classroom and help students develop the information literacy skills they need to be successful in college.  To have your students self-enroll, send them this link: https://uk.instructure.com/enroll/HFM8FK.

Interactive Overview of Young Library

This interactive overview of Young Library shows the services, collections, and amenities available on each floor.

Interactive Overview of Young Library

Introduction to UK Libraries

Introduction to UK Libraries is an interactive tutorial highlighting important resources and services.  

 

Introduction to UK Libraries

 

Overview of InfoKat Discovery

Watch this short video for an overview and tips to get the most out of our new discovery system, InfoKat Discovery. IKD includes our library catalog plus additional resources, including content from some (not all!) article databases and local digital collections.

Questions? Comments? Just Ask Us!

Useful Tools

Suggested Links

Consider adding links to these pages in our website:

Short animations (animated Gifs)

These short animations can be added as you would any image.  Students don't have to click on anything to see the video.  (Yes, having several on a page can be obnoxious! Use them sparingly.)

Library Orientation Game

New to UK Libraries?  Or just want to test your library knowledge?  Try to collect all 25 books in this fun game, designed to reinforce some important library tips that will help you make the most of UK Libraries.

Library Game thumbnail

Creating Research Assignments

Creating Research Assignments includes suggestions for effective information literacy assignments and pitfalls to avoid.

 

Creating Research Assignments

 

Library DIY

Library DIY is an interactive "self help" tool designed to help students help themselves with common library problems and questions. 

Library DIY

Introduction to Scholarly Articles

Introduction to Scholarly Articles helps students who are new to scholarly research.

Introduction to Scholarly Articles

APA Reference Quiz

Short quiz for testing your APA citation skills.

APA Reference Basics

Copyright Overview: Using Images

Copyright Overview: Using Images is a ten minute course that provides an introduction to copyright, public domain, fair use, and Creative Commons.

copyright images tutorial

Library Jeopardy

Test your knowledge about UK Libraries services and resources!

Library Jeopardy

 

MBA Intro to Libraries

MBA tutorial thumbnail

Introduction to Library Resources for MBA students.  Includes overview of primary business databases and tips about conducting library research on business subjects.

Library Tips Game

Library Tips Thumbnail

Library Tips is an easy drag-and-drop game to help highlight a few important tips about using UK Libraries.

Finding Book Reviews

While Finding Book Reviews is intended primarily for students in LIS courses, this can help anyone in finding book reviews, particularly those published before 1965.

Finding Book Reviews

Finding a Book on the Shelf

How to Find a Book on the Shelf provides a brief, basic overview of Library of Congress call numbers, provides practice putting them in order, and explains how to find a book in Young Library.

put books in order