This is the "Getting Started" page of the "New Product Development" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New Product Development  

Last Updated: Dec 4, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/npd Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Guides to the Literature

The sources listed below will provide lists of various resources on topics related to new product development. Quite a few of these resources also contain bibliographies. If you would like information on using the online catalog to find books, go to the tab at the top of this page marked "Books: Finding and Browsing."
 
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information
Z 7164 .C81 S7796 2004
Ready Reference (behind the reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
This book is divided into two parts.  The first part lists sources by type, the second part lists sources according to the subject area they discuss and also includes a brief overview of different aspects of research within that subject area. The "Marketing" section in particular is helpful for those interested in product development.
 
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
HF 5353 .E9 16th ed. 2002
Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
Has sections for "Market Research," "Marketing," "Market Statistics," and "Industrial Research" that list resources by topics like Indexes, Directories, Handbooks, Online Databases, and Trade/Professional Associations, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries.
 
Business Research Handbook: Methods and Sources for Lawyers and Business Professionals
HF 54.52 .U5 S54 1996
Reference (2nd Floor of Young Library, West Wing)
Though dated, it lists many essential sources under the section "Business and Corporate Sources," along with having great introductions on each section about how to go about conducting research.
 
      
     

    Introduction

    Developing a new product begins with the conception of an idea, but many steps exist between the formation of an idea and the successful execution of a new product launch. This guide has been created in order to help  marketing students who would like to see the tools that Young Library has that can aid them in conducting market research in preparation for launching a new product.

    Of course, the most difficult aspect of creating a guide about developing a new product is that each idea for a new product is unique and has a number of resources that could apply to it. Therefore, this guide will focus primarily on getting users acquainted with the tools available at Young Library that will aid in carrying out competitive analysis of companies and industries, consumer analysis and finding information on intellectual property like patents and trademarks. 

    Knowing about these resources will be a great first step toward getting an idea about the type of research that needs to be carried out before a new product can be successfully launched. Keep in mind that these are just a starting point, there are many more resources available through Young Library that are not listed here.  Go to the sections "Books: Finding & Browsing" and "Finding Articles and Journals" to find out more about finding books and articles.

    Topic Overview

    For those that are just learning about all that goes into developing a new product, the following sources are excellent starting points.  Since investigating possible markets for a new product is an important part of the development process for marketing students, some sources give a background on marketing and market research in relation to product development.  If you are wondering how to go about finding the books listed below using the online catalog, take a look at the tab labeled "Books: Finding and Browsing."

    "Product Development." Encyclopedia of Small Business. 3rd ed. Vol. 2, pp. 891-894.
    Available online through Gale Virtual Reference Library.
    A great starting point that provides readers with a brief background and then delves into different aspects of product development.
     
    "New-product Development." Encyclopedia of American Business, p. 328.
    HF 1001 .E463 2004
    Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
    Gives a short but clear definition and provides the steps companies take in the product development process.  Focuses on the issues related to a new product more than the previous entry does.
     
    "Marketing and Merchandising." Encyclopedia Britannica Macropaedia Vol. 23 pp. 495-508.
    AE 5 .E363 2010
    Ready Reference (behind the Reference Desk on the 2nd Floor of Young Library)
    Gives an overview of many different aspects of marketing.  The sections "The Marketing Process" and "Customers" within the entry are particularly informative for those that would like to learn more about the importance of market research in the new product development process.
     
    Market Research Toolbox: A Concise Guide for Beginners
    HF 5415.2 .M383 2006
    4th Floor, Young Library
    Gives a great overview of ways to conduct market research. The chapter on secondary research gives general ideas of how the library can help during the market research process.
     
    Online Resource
    This website has a number of excellent tutorials that can answer general questions about different aspects of marketing. The "Product Decisions" and "Marketing Research" sections are particularly useful for those that have only a base knowledge of what goes into product development and market research.

        

      Business and Economics Liaison

      Profile Image
      Peter Hesseldenz
      Contact Info
      W.T. Young Library
      University of Kentucky
      Lexington, KY 40506-0456
      (859) 218-1840
      Send Email
       

      Ask-a-Librarian

      Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.

      Ask-a-Librarian

       Recommend a book you'd like to see added to the Libraries' collections.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip