This is the "Home" page of the "Cookbooks and Cookery, Menus, Recipes, and Preserving Food - Special Collections Research Center" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cookbooks and Cookery, Menus, Recipes, and Preserving Food - Special Collections Research Center   Tags: agriculture, canning, chefs, cook_books, cookbooks, cookery, cooking, cooking_stoves, curing, diet, distilling, food_preserving, ingredients, meals, menus, nutrition, recipes, spirits, women  

Books, manuscripts, and oral history collections in UK's Special Collections Research Center that discuss the preparation and preservation of food.
Last Updated: Jul 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uky.edu/sccooking Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Special Collections Research Center

Phone:  (859) 257-8611

10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F

    or

Email:   sclref@lsv.uky.edu

 Photograph image of kitchen from the Kentucky Digital Library.

 
 

COOKBOOKS - RECIPES - MENUS

The Special Collections Research Center has more than 1,000 cookbooks and cookery titles, menus, and manuscripts with recipes for cooking and preserving food. There are tips on the use of tobacco, the making of spirits such as wine, and the distilling of hard liquors. 

In the oral history collections are recordings about Kentucky distilleries and individual stories about the family farm, gardening, canning, and curing. The photograph archives has pictures of gardens, kitchens, cooks, food, and food preparation.

There are online titles, some with ads for cooking stoves. There are also recipes within the online historical Kentucky newspapers found in the Kentucky Digital Library.

The various materials are dated from the 1500s to the present year.  Our collections are available for use in the Breckinridge Reading Room 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. M-F.

No Circulation

No Interlibrary Loan

 

 

sugars baking,fotolia,granulated,ingredients,spoons,sugars     spices   

salts  

This research guide was completed with assistance from Dr. James Birchfield, Curator of Rare Books, Emeritus, and Librarian Cindy Cline, Cataloger - Special Formats Unit.

Photograph images from Microsoft Ciipart.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip