Using Primary Sources
Comments (0)
Ask-a-Librarian
Not finding what you want? Call, email, chat with or visit a UK Reference Librarian who will be glad to help you.
Recommend a book you'd like to see added to the Libraries' collections.
Sociology Students Study in King Library
Searching Guide
- Oxford Reference and Gale Virtual Reference Library have articles on most any topic, person, place.
- Who's Who for quick biographies.
Searching for books and dissertations
- InfoKat
- WorldCat Local combines InfoKat and WorldCat.
- You can also use Google Books to find good stuff; click the link "Find this book in a Library" to learn library holdings.
- The article databases listed below give you book reviews: that's an easy way to learn of books on your topic. Search also Book Review Index Online.
- Dissertations & Theses: many of these are full-text.
Searching for articles
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
- PsycInfo (EBSCOhost)
- America: History & Life and Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
- Sociological Abstracts and Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)
- Social Work Abstracts (OvidSP)
- Gender Watch / Alt-Press Watch / Ethnic News Watch (ProQuest)
- Web of Science covers a wide range of disciplines while indexing scholarly journals exclusively; you can search article footnotes using a Cited Ref search. From here, using Journal Citation Reports, you can get details on the top 100 or so sociology journals.
- JSTOR covers many disciplines; provides full-text of scholarly journals.
- WorldCat Local: results include books and articles.
- Google Scholar (UK): results include books and articles. For full-text of journal articles, look for "Get Text @ UK"; otherwise, click "Other UK means of access" or go directly to InfoKat or ILLiad. (If you are off-campus, look for Scholar Preferences and set it to UK.)
- Information on journals in Ulrich's Directory.
Searching for special sources
- Statistics: Statistical Search; Social Explorer.
- Government reports: Monthly Catalog (pre-1976) and Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (since 1976). Government reports are also listed in InfoKat.
- Survey results: Polling the Nation.
- Legal cases, reviews, laws can be found in LexisNexis.
- Newspaper and broadcast articles: LexisNexis, Lexington Herald-Leader.
- Words: definitions and extensive histories: Oxford English Dictionary.
Academic Liaison |
Contact Info 2-29 William T Young Library Child Development, Communications, Journalism, Gender & Women's Studies, Psychology, Sociology Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |





Loading...
