Skip to main content

Social Work: Databases

Research guide for social work.

Databases for scholarly articles (use these first!)

Use these databases to locate peer-reviewed, scholarly journal articles.

Even though there is sometimes overlap, different databases contain different stuff. That's why you may want to search more than one database.

If you have questions about how to best use any of these resources, please contact the Reference Desk for help.

Other databases to consider

If you still need articles, use these databases to supplement those above.

Clinical, medical, & health databases

Here's access to some databases and tools if you are exploring health-related topics.

Legal & government resources

If you're looking for U.S. laws or government information about social and civil topics involving human rights, social justice, social welfare, and related topics, you might consider these resources. To use effectively, you'll often need to know which law(s), case(s), and/or publication(s) you're looking for.

Electronic journals by title

Databases full list

Are all articles full-text online?

Many journal articles to which UK Libraries has access are available to you full-text online in .PDF format.

However, sometimes you may encounter a bibliographic record for an article to which we do not have access. When this happens, you can request that we get the article from another library using Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you have questions about or need assistance with ILL, please contact them.

ILL contact info:

Borrowing: (859) 218-1880
Lending: (859) 218-2049
Document Delivery: (859) 218-1203
Fax: (859) 257-0502
Email: ILLBorrowing@uky.edu