WorldCat Local: Home

We've combined our library catalog InfoKat with other catalogs around the world.  We've added records describing journal articles and much more.  For you it's all in one giant database!  *** Almost 1 billion records ***

At your convenience are all the functions that you have been enjoying:

• Link to request the item via Book Express
• Link to our Get Text @ UK menu of e-possibilities
• Links to ILLiad for the items we don't have
• Link to InfoKat, if you want to search in our classic catalog
• Link to your library account (InfoKat)

Here's our new feedback form.  Talk to us-- we're listening!

We give you new functions:

• link to InfoKat availability in your results list
• View Now links in results list:  based on knowledge base
• View Now links now route through the proxy server for off-campus success
• Beth activated dozens of new databases and expanded the groupings
• Brad and Beth made a first pass through our knowledge base, trying to make it more accurate
• We edited the config for displaying the Book Express and the ILLiad buttons, for example... now you get ILLiad if the local copy is checked-out; you don't get Book Express if the only copy is Spec's; etc.
• Here's our A-Z list, based on our WorldCat knowledge base.
• Now the check-in lines display:  see!
• We tweaked the mobile interface.
• We have a sandbox!  In it we're testing the Voyager interoperability via Z39.50.  The Z connection seems more zippy!
• Because of the effort needed in making it accurate (and in keeping it accurate) after May 4th we will turn off the WorldCat knowledge base.  In most WorldCat Local records you will continue to see links to our SFX resolver ("Get Text @ UK").

Here are journal articles on WorldCat Local.

featuring:  Rowe, Ronda. 2010. "Web-Scale Discovery: A Review of Summon, EBSCO Discovery Service, and WorldCat Local". The Charleston Advisor. 12 (1): 5-10.

Overview

• 650+ million articles with one-click access to full text (number of articles depends on the databases that we make available; full-text access depends on the licensed targets listed in our knowledge base)
• 24+ million digital items from trusted sources like Google Books, OAIster and HathiTrust; unique collections from leading institutional repositories and archives; NDLTD: the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
• 12+ million eBooks from leading aggregators and publishers
• 44+ million pieces of evaluative content (Tables of Contents, cover art, summaries, etc.) included at no additional charge
• 204+ million books in libraries worldwide (the online union catalog)

Details:

• Databases: A central index of content from multiple sources provides faster, more efficient results. Databases also available via remote connection.  View databases by name, subscription provider, central index availability or remote index inclusion.
• Institutional repository records 16 million
• Theses and dissertations 17 million
• Sound recordings 8.7 million
• Archival materials 17.7 million
• Musical scores 5.7 million
• evaluative content for music:

WorldCat.org has beefed up available information for more than 250,000 pop and classical music entries, thanks to a new partnership with allmusic.com and Rovi. Content added: 
Cover art
Track picks, ratings and reviews for popular music from All Music Guide
Song titles, composers and track times
Genres and styles
Release dates

Re: the online union catalog:

• 470+ languages from 112 countries and territories
  Many items cataloged in WorldCat cannot be discovered through any other resource. Records are constructed in many languages: WorldCat cataloging supports Arabic, Bengali, Chinese, Cyrillic, Devanagari, Greek, Hebrew, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Tamil and Thai scripts, with each script including multiple languages.
• National catalogs increasingly represented
  OCLC continues to put much more of the "world" in WorldCat by partnering with national libraries from many countries. More than 40 national catalogs including those of Poland, Australia and New Zealand are now or will soon be part of WorldCat.
• Quality metadata
  Records are maintained cooperatively by catalogers and other information professionals; adhere to international standards; and are vetted by several OCLC and industry quality control programs. Libraries that contribute information to WorldCat are bound by the WorldCat Principles of Cooperation and follow particular guidelines regarding content.

uky.worldcat.org

Working Group members:

• Lybarger, Kathryn
• Vickery, Kelly
• Davis, Frank
• Jan Carver
• Laura Whayne
• Beth Kraemer

"The group is charged to review WorldCat Local’s current configuration for possible enhancements based on OCLC’s continuing product development; to recommend a process for changing settings, adding new resources and for communicating those changes going forward; to research the possibility of participating in the WorldCat knowledge base for improved resource sharing of electronic journals; and to conduct informational sessions focused on the capabilities of the WorldCat Local discovery system."