Skip to main content

Curiosity is Key: Curious Cats Field Trips (past event)

Research is formalized curiosity. It is poking and prying with a purpose. - Zora Neale Hurston

Join us for Curious Cats Field Trips!

Let's go on a field trip!

Remember taking school field trips?  Sure, you were learning something but you also had FUN!  Indulge your curiosity while exploring these educational campus gems!  Just show up at the date/time and location listed below.  Some locations have a capacity limit, so get there early.  No permission slip needed!  

Wildcat student

Our last field trip of the semester:

  • Fri 4/12, 10:30-11:30 AM, Mysteries from the Archives (SCRC)

Scroll down to see detailed descriptions of each field trip.  Please arrive early, particularly for field trips that involve touring a location.  Field trips are free and open to anyone.  No school bus, though.  Sorry.

Got questions?  Contact kraemer@uky.edu or jen.martin@uky.edu.

If you attended one of our nine field trips this semester, please let us know what you thought.  Please also consider submitting suggestions for future field trips.  If there is interest, we may host another series in the fall!

Past Field Trips

The field trips listed below were held earlier in the spring.  If you missed one and want us to schedule another visit, suggest it in our Suggestion Box!  If we get requests for more field trips, maybe we can do this again!

King Library Press

Thursday 2/28, 12-1 PM, King Library Press 

King LibraryEnter via the Special Collections side, across from the Fine Arts Library


Have you ever seen a real printing press in action?  The King Library Press, founded in 1956, is devoted to the tradition of fine printing and produces books and broadsides. KLP has a variety of historic printing presses on site. It is a printing history museum as well as a working press!

See this short video from 2015 for a brief history and a view of the press in action.


 

William S. Webb Museum of Anthropology

Wednesday, 3/6, 3-4 PM William S. Webb Museum of Anthropology 

1020A Export Street (about a 15-minute walk from central campus)


Founded in 1931, the William S. Webb Museum of Anthropology has three primary purposes: to acquire and maintain anthropological collections, support anthropological research, and disseminate anthropological knowledge. The extensive holdings serve to link the past, the present, and the future. Join us for a guided tour of the archeology research center and museum collections facility by George Crothers, Associate Professor of Anthropology and the museum director.

 Archeology Facility

How Does Microfilm Work?

Wednesday 3/20, 1-2 PM How does microfilm work?

Periodicals Desk, 2nd floor, Young Library


What are those strange machines attached to the computers at the Periodicals Desk?  Well, not all information is available on the web!  Libraries and archives provide access to older materials such as newspapers and older books through microfilm and other microforms - these may be the only options for finding some kinds of historic information.  Microfilm readers can be intimidating if you have never used them before.  Come to this field trip for a closer look at finding and using microfilm.  If you're interested in genealogy or other research that might include historic newspapers, this field trip is for you!

UK Art Museum

Thursday 3/21, 3-4 PM, UK Art Museum

Singletary Center for the Arts.  We'll meet at the museum entrance.


RALPH STEADMAN, Hunter S. Thompson 1937 – 2005, 2005, Collage, conté chalk, and ink on board, Private collection © Ralph Steadman

Join UK Art Museum staff for a lively tour and conversation about the legendary artist Ralph Steadman! At 82 years old, Steadman's exuberant style of drawing has been relevant in popular culture for almost 50 years now, launched by his collaboration with revered Kentucky author Hunter S. Thompson at the Kentucky Derby in 1970. You may not know his name, but you've definitely seen his work, ranging from illustrated children's books (Animal Farm & Alice in Wonderland), political cartoons, beer labels (Flying Dog), popular television shows (Breaking Bad), and even rap album covers (Jack Huncho, Huncho Jack). USA TODAY recently listed the exhibition as one of the top 20 in the country for Spring 2019--you do not want to miss this!

Image credit: RALPH STEADMAN, Hunter S. Thompson 1937 – 2005, 2005, Collage, conté chalk, and ink on board, Private collection © Ralph Steadman

Confucius Institute

Tuesday, 3/26, 3-4 PM Confucius Institute

Ground floor of the Lucille C. Little Fine Arts Library


Confucius CenterDiscover resources to experience Chinese culture and language with the Confucius Institute. Located in the ground floor of the Lucille C. Little Fine Arts Library, the space is the product of a $1.7 million grant and serves as one of the few world-wide global models. Join Dr. Huajing Maske, Executive Director of the Confucius Institute, for a tour of the new facility, followed by a display of the Chinese three perfections, where participants will experience facets of traditional Chinese art, music, and culture.

Mathews Garden

Wednesday 4/3, 2-3 PM Mathews Garden

Corner of Limestone & Washington Ave.  We'll meet at the entrance closest to the College of Public Health.


Mathews Garden is a 0.6 acre woodland garden on the corner of Limestone Street and Washington Avenue that has been in existence since 1900.  The garden is home to a variety of native plants and is used for teaching and research.  Join us for this tour, conducted by UK biologist Jim Krupa, highlighting native plants in the garden.  Tour will be held rain or shine, so dress appropriately!

Kentucky Geological Survey

Thursday 4/4, 3-4 PM, Kentucky Geological Survey

Mining and Mineral Resources Building (meet in the lobby)


The Kentucky Geological Survey is a state supported research center and public resource within the University of Kentucky. Join us for a tour of our displays of rocks and minerals, and then visit laboratories where we perform tests on coal, petroleum-bearing rocks and water from across the Commonwealth. 

Innovation Center

Tuesday 4/9, 3-4 PM, Innovation Center

Ralph G. Anderson Building, second floor


Innovation CenterIn 2017, the college opened the Innovation Center on the second floor of the Ralph G. Anderson Building. The Innovation Center offers 3D printers, laser cutters, CNC mills, and various power tools. Students currently use the space for class assignments, team competitions and even develop products for their businesses. 

Stop by the Innovation Center to learn more about the resources available for students to develop products.

Special Collections Research Center

Friday 4/12, 10:30-11:30 AM Mysteries from the Archives

Special Collections Research Center, King Library (Use the entrance across from the Fine Arts Library)


SCRC page

UK Libraries collects and preserves unique and rare materials from around the world.  Join us at the Special Collections Research Center for an active learning exploration of curiosities, wonders, and mysteries from our rare books, manuscripts, archival, and research collections. 

Folks should meet in the lobby.

Library Resources

Did we spark your curiosity?  Come to the library to find out more!  Check out these subject guides to library resources related to some of our spring field trips:

Or contact a library subject specialist to get tips for researching whatever you're curious about! 

Ask Us at the UK Libraries if you need more information.  

Ask Us

Made with Padlet

Made with Padlet