It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 653: Studies in Literature Since 1900: American Modernism: Home
A guide to the resources for students in ENG 653. Fall 2019.
A database which containd materials from libraries and repositories around the world, but with emphasis on North America. To find archival material on a person, search using the person's name as a subject and then click the archival tab to see holdings.
Database containing all of the archival records from WorldCat, plus thousands of records contributed independently by libraries and archives. Microfilmed and digitized collections are usually not included.
SNAC is a free, online resource that helps users discover biographical and historical information about persons, families, and organizations that created or are documented in historical resources (primary source documents) and their connections to one another. Users can locate archival collections and related resources held at cultural heritage institutions around the world.
SNAC is an international cooperative including, but not limited to, archives, libraries, and museums, that is working to build a corpus of reliable descriptions of people, families, and organizations that link to and provide a contextual understanding of historical records.
A landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
"Advice Literature for men and women." Access to approximately 50,000 images of original manuscript and printed material, including a strong core of documents from the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Ephemeral material such as ballads, cartoons and pamphlets are featured alongside diaries, advice literature, medical journals, conduct books and periodicals.
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women as revealed in approximately 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Also includes biographies and an annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Our membership in HathiTrust provides UK affiliates the benefit of being able to download the full-text PDF of public domain titles. (Without a membership you are limited to a page.) To do so, users must log-in at the HathiTrust site with current linkblue credentials.
UK affiliates can also search copyrighted works, but the full-text of the work is not available for full-text viewing. However, the ability to search over 16.8 million volumes will allow you to identify useful titles.
Over two centuries on-line for full-text searching of the London publication, more than 7 million articles, from 1785-1985. Widely recognized as the source for authoritative reports on politics, law, business and society. Extensive coverage of parliamentary debates, royal doings, obituaries, official appointments. Does not include the Sunday Times, the Times Literary Supplement, the Times Educational Supplement, the Times Higher Education Supplement.
Scanned and searchable full-text images from over 1,000 American magazines and journals, including 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 and 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras. Coverage includes popular and scholarly as well as regional and niche publications.
Searchable facsimile edition of The Economist, published weekly since 1843. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables.
Contains the full run of Vogue Magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the present, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with indexing that enables researchers to find images by garment type, designer, and brand names as well as other keywords. Easily download and save images and PDFs of articles and advertisements.
With over 18,000 full-text biographies, many of which include illustrations. In addition 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references and links to selected websites are available. Also includes articles from The Oxford Companion to United States History to provide historical and social context.
Provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
When using the print edition for works, you will need to know the year the work was published since each volume must be searched separately. Emphasis is on fiction, popular or semi-popular non-fiction, and children’s books. Only a limited number of scholarly journals are covered. There are certain restrictions about what items are included – such as non-fiction works must receive at least 2 review and fiction must receive at least 4 review before inclusion, only books published or distributed in the United States are included.