It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Autism Resources for Parents: References
This pathfinder will share an annotated list of reference sources, indexes, databases, and other content to help users begin to conduct research on the topic of Autism Spectrum Disorder.
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. The information provided is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and legal specialists.This new edition of the DSM-5, used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
This is an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. There have been many significant changes since the DSM-IV and specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice. One of the major changes is the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder.
45 critical topics every parent and teacher must understand about autism. Serving and advocating for children with autism spectrum disorders (ASD) requires parents, teachers, and other caretakers to gather and understand a massive amount of information. Autism Encyclopedia: The Complete Guide to Autism Spectrum Disorders offers concise, reader-friendly articles that provide answers to the most pertinent questions related to educating andparenting children with autism. The entries explain and give practical advice on topics including the educational process; programs and therapy; issues in communication, behavior, and social skills; promoting living skills, friendships, and inclusion; and caring for adults with autism. Current research and emerging issues also are discussed. Each entry contains a glossary of key terms and suggested resources for more information. Topics are cross-referenced for easy access to related articles within the book. The book provides parents and teachers with the information they need to help ensure success for children with ASD.
This encyclopedia provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. It also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders. It provides information including the definition, description, symptoms, causes, demographics, diagnosis, diagnostics and findings, educational considerations, and employment.
While this encyclopedia was published before the DSM-5 updated the criteria for Autism Spectrum Disorder, this source is still relevant as it has invaluable information that demonstrates the spectrum and continuum of ASD. Information on Autism can be located on page 122 and Asperger's Disorder can be located on page 106:
This encyclopedia provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, with issues related to physical, cognitive, and behavioral development. There is a distinct emphasis on health issues affecting children under the age of four.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it is comprised of over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.