Skip to Main Content

It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Temperance: Primary Sources in Special Collections: Primary Sources in Special Collections

This guide will help you find primary sources pertaining to the Temperance movement.

Primary Manuscript Sources With Online Finding Aids. Click On Links To Access Full Collection Descriptions.

Special Collections Research Center

Breckinridge Research Room

Contact:

2nd Floor
Margaret I. King Library
Special Collections Research Center
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0039

859-257-8611

Digital Books Published Before 1924 from the Special Collections Library: Electronic Reproduction Made Possible by the Beyond the Shelf Digitization Project. Click On Link To Access E-Book.

Foot Prints / Laine, Henry Allen.
Richmond, Kentucky: Daily Register Press, 1924. Poetry. See Poem "Saloons Must Go!"

Non-Circulating Published Primary and Secondary Sources in Special Collections Pertaining to Temperance. Click On Links To Access Book Titles.

Not a comprehensive list. For non-Special Collections Library book titles, search the InfoKat online catalog.

Temperance
Many of these titles are available online as EBooks.
The Cherokee Temperance Movement: an internal struggle for a sober nation before the Trail of Tears

Digitized Primary Source Documents From Special Collections. Click On Links To Access Documents.

Resolutions Adopted by the Executive Committee of the Kentucky Woman's Christian Temperance Union
Original Document in the Alben W. Barkley Collection.
The National Dry Federation
Original document in the Alben W. Barkley Collection.
Hoover For President; Kentucky Woman's Christian Temperance Union
Original document in the Alben W. Barkley Collection.