Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research here! Need help searching? See our Search Tips page.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The primary source material in this collection focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas, with particular focus on Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
This digital resource provides access to material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection, and spans four centuries and covers North and Central America.
Since 1800 over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
New
American West is comprised of original manuscripts, rare printed books, maps and ephemeral material from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago, and covering topics including the growth of urban centres, the environmental impact of westward expansion and life in the borderlands.
This collection is sourced from collections at American and Canadian libraries including the Massachusetts Historical Society and the Peabody Essex Museum, Salem. It focuses on the history of the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the early 18th and 20th centuries.
Spanning three centuries, China: Culture and Society provides access to the Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia, from Cornell University Library collection in its entirety. Mostly in English and published between c.1750 and 1929, these pamphlets focus on literature on China and the Chinese in the Western world, and address a wide variety of research interests and topics surrounding Chinese history, religion, culture and everyday life.
The publications of the Church Missionary Society (CMS) shed light on key events since the beginning of the 19th century. With active mission stations in every continent, the published journals, letters and reports represent a global perspective on not only evangelism and mission history but conflict, colonialism and globalization
Sourced from The National Archives UK, the first two modules of Colonial America document the early history of the colonies, from frontier life, early expansion and rivalries to the journey toward revolution.
Complete volumes of all British Government Confidential Print for Africa, from the Colonial, Dominion, Foreign and War Offices.
Complete runs of all British Government Confidential Print volumes relating to the nations of South and Central America.
Complete volumes of all British Colonial Office and Foreign Office Confidential Print for the Middle East.
This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America.
Eighteen Century Drama contains the Larpent Collection from the Huntington Library, which archives almost every play submitted for licence between 1737 and 1824. Also included are the diaries of Larpent’s wife and professional collaborator Anna, recording her criticisms of plays, as well as insights into theatrical culture and English society. It also includes playbills, theatre records and correspondence for social context.
Bringing together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1835, this resource covers social, political and literary life, providing an opportunity to examine a variety of topical issues, and to compare a range of perspectives on the debates of the day.
From personal collections and rare printed material, to military files, ephemera and artwork, The First World War highlights the experiences of soldiers, civilians and governments on both sides of the conflict and in multiple theatres of war, and includes modules on personal experiences, propaganda and recruitment, and visual perspectives and narratives
This collection contains formerly restricted British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Featuring diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases and other materials, this collection represents a constant exchange of information between London and the British embassies and consulates.
These files cover Independence and Partition, social and cultural interchange after 1947 and the ramifications that these changes continue to have throughout South Asia today.
This collection contains complete runs of Foreign Office files from the Middle East, providing an expansive view of key events and their global political impact.
This multi-archive collection captures the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living across the various frontiers of North America, Africa, Australia and New Zealand from 1650-1920.
Taking the phenomenon of the Grand Tour as a starting point, this resource explores the relationship between Britain and Europe from c.1550 to 1850, exploring the Anglo-European response to continental travel for pleasure, business and diplomacy.
GuideStar is the world's largest source of information on nonprofit organizations. Anyone can search their records on millions of nonprofits freely online, and the University of Kentucky Libraries also subscribes to GuideStar Library Services, whereby we can give our researchers access to GuideStar Pro services.
The South Asian manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland range from the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras.
Based on a variety of original manuscript collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York, this resource offers captivating insights into the everyday lives of the American Jewish population from their first arrival in New York in 1654 to today.
This collection charts the development of leisure travel, from the emergence of travel agencies in the 19th century, to the impact of wilderness tourism on American national identity, and the golden age of package holidays in the 1970s. Material is sourced from a number of international archives, including the archives of Thomas Cook.
This collection contains the Victorian manuscripts from the Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection at the New York Public Library. Each author collection is included in its entirety, allowing users to browse and search the manuscripts as they would in the Berg Reading Room. Authors represented include: Matthew Arnold, The Brontës, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Wilkie Collins, Charles Dickens and Thomas Hardy.
This resource contains manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds.
From salacious ‘swell’s guides’ to scandalous broadsides and subversive posters, the material sold and exchanged on London’s bustling thoroughfares offers insight into the dark underworld of the city. Children’s chapbooks, street cries, slang dictionaries and ballads were all part of a vibrant culture of street literature. This collection, drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, will be of interest to 19th century scholars researching: working-class culture, street literature, popular music, urban topography, ‘slumming’, prostitution, the Contagious Diseases Act, the Temperance Movement, social reform, Toynbee Hall, police and criminality.
Macmillan Cabinet Papers, 1957-1963 provides complete coverage of the Cabinet conclusions (minutes) and memoranda of Harold Macmillan’s government, plus selected minutes and memoranda of policy committees.
This collection provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer. The collection contains thousands of reports commissioned by companies such as Philip Morris, Chrysler, Exxon and CBS on consumer goods ranging from tobacco and broadcasting to cars and hotels.
Mass Observation Online provides digital access to a life-writing archive, capturing the everyday experiences, thoughts and opinions of people living in the UK through this time period. Writing in response to directives (questionnaires), hundreds of Mass Observers provide a unique insight into an extraordinary range of subjects, from the deeply personal (sex, family) to everyday life (shopping, holidays) to global affairs.
Only five major letter collections exist from fifteenth century England and they are all available online in this digital resource. This resource contains full colour images of the original medieval manuscripts that comprise these family letter collections along with full text searchable transcripts from the printed editions.
This collection contains medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world, dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries, with a focus on accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China.
Manuscripts for the study of Meiji society, culture, ethnology and education from the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925). Morse was one of the first Americans to live in Japan – teaching science at the Imperial University of Tokyo – and he devoted much of his life to the task of documenting life in Japan before it was transformed by Western modernization.
From the period 1800 to 1924, this module covers the migration experience, from motives and departures to arrival and permanent settlement.
These files allow scholars and researchers the opportunity to assess, from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective, Nixon’s administration, culminating in Watergate and resignation.
This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University. Their goal was to identify and describe all manner of writing by early modern women from diaries to works of drama. This resource includes over two hundred and thirty manuscripts from fifteen libraries and archives in the UK and North America. The manuscripts are varied in their content including works of poetry, religious writing, autobiographical material, cookery and medical recipes, and accounts.
Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. By focusing on collections of original archival material from libraries in Britain and America, this digital resource provides primary sources to enable students and scholars to examine these issues in detail.
This collection looks at the history of ‘popular’ remedies and treatments in nineteenth century America, through primary source materials from the collections at the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The intended audience for these materials was the ordinary man in the street rather than medical professionals.
This digital resource offers access to the single largest collection of working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers anywhere in the world, the manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust.
Designed for teaching and research, this resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, covering five centuries. The resource offers case studies in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba along with important material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.
This collection contains nineteenth and twentieth century American women's travel diaries and correspondence from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University.
This resource contains a wide range of source material relating to popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the period from 1779 to 1930, and shows how interconnected these worlds were. Modules cover spiritualism, sensation and magic; circuses, sideshows and freaks; music hall, theatre and popular entertainment; and moving pictures, optical entertainments and the advent of cinema.
The Institute for the Study of Free Enterprise (ISFE) in the Gatton College of Business and Economics, along with the Student Government Association (SGA), have partnered with WSJ to provide school-sponsored memberships to all students, faculty and staff. Through the partnership, members have full digital access to The Wall Street Journal?s news at WSJ.com and through the app. Additionally, curated career content can be found at students.wsj.com. To activate your membership, visit WSJ.com/UKentucky. Access is through Dec 31, 2021.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...