Academic Sources - General and Humanities
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Indexes and abstracts more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. - Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. - Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
- This link opens in a new window
Over 700 journal backfiles. Full-text from the first volume to 2000. - Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. - America: History and Life
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal literature, reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. - Historical Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Covers events from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Academic Sources - Social Sciences
- PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
Indexed coverage of issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources, including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. - ProQuest Political Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of international serials literature in political science and complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. - EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
Indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. Topics include including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics. Includes coverage of journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics. - Anthropology Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, folklore, linguistics, psychology, and religious studies. Indexes articles two or more pages long in works published in English, Germanic, Slavic, Romance and selected Scandinavian languages from the 19th century to the present. - ProQuest Sociology Database
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 500 titles, with more than 300 available in full-text. Coverage includes anthropology, sociology, social work, political science, policy studies, communication, education, criminology, demography and economics. - Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts, articles from scholarly journals covering sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, social psychology, and urban studies - Sociological Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing full-text articles from 500+ scholarly/peer-reviewed journals back to 1975 in all areas of sociology including social behavior, relationships and social structure. Updated daily.
Keywords for People of African Descent Living in other countries
It's sometimes difficult to find the right word or phrase to use in searching for books or articles about people of African descent living in other countries. Here are some ideas.
Combine the following words or phrases with the country you are searching for:
Blacks (ie Blacks -- France, Blacks -- Brazil)
Black People (or combine with country name, ie Black Germans or Black Brazilians)
Africans
Africans from particular countries (ie Angolans, Ghanians, Somalian etc)
Africans from particular ethnic groups (Yoruba, Hausa, Fulani, etc.)
Use the prefix "Afro-" (ie. Afro-Cuban, Afro-Latino, Afro-Decendants)
People of African Descent
Migrants/Immigrants/Asylum Seekers/Refugees
Slaves/Enslaved People
Some other useful seach strategies include combining the name of your country with the following terms:
African Diaspora
Racism/Race/Discrimination/Xenophobia
Mulitculturalism/Multicultural/Diversity/Inclusive
African Religions associated with the diaspora - Candomble, Santeria, Voodoo (and other various spellings), and others
African Culture associated with the diaspora - foods (moqueca baiana), music (reggae, samba), etc.
Black Lives Matter
Slavery
How to Get Full-Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to the article itself, links to the full text of the article, or it will let you know that we do not have full text of the article.
If the full text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a print copy of the article. If we do not have a print copy, you can request an interlibrary loan (ILL). For articles, these usually arrive pretty quickly.
Have questions? Ask Us for help.
News Sources
- ProQuest US Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of selected U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s, featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, trade journals, and news sites. Coverage includes the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Courier-Journal, and The Wall Street Journal, as well as local and regional newspapers. - Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
Contains 3687 sources from 152 countries, including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. - ProQuest News and Newspapers Combined Search
- This link opens in a new window
Combined search of the following ProQuest databases:
Alt-Press Watch
Courier-Journal (Louisville)
Ethnic NewsWatch
GenderWatch
New York Times Historical Edition
Wall Street Journal (various editions) - Alt-Press Watch
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of approximately 190 newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. - New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
Late Edition (East Coast). Also includes The New York Times on the Web online articles. - Wall Street Journal (Eastern Edition)
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text (with abstracts) from ProQuest. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Includes access to over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical and reference publications (most full-text, the rest abstracted), primarily newspapers, magazines and journals. - Ethnic NewsWatch
- This link opens in a new window
Includes journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses that comprise a full-text collection of more than 2.5 million articles from over 330 titles, from 1959 to current. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; and Native People.