Country-Specific Information
- BBC Country ProfilesCountry overviews with special attention paid to a description of each country's media system.
- Country Fact Sheets - U.S. Department of StatePamphlets written by the State Department for most countries in the world. Each includes a section on foreign relations between that country and the United States including a listing for each ambassador.
- Country Report via Mergent Archives
This link opens in a new window
Reports detailing essential political, economic and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide. Includes Political Risk as well as other key information. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
The box labeled "Get Country Info" provides a variety of resources on various countries. Simply chose a country and then the type of source desired. Sources include: Business Monitor International, Country Briefings, PRS Risk Guide and Services, and Recent News Stories. - Economic Outlook (OECD)
- This link opens in a new window
The OECD Economic Outlook is the OECD’s twice-yearly analysis of the major economic trends and prospects for the next two years. Prepared by the OECD Economics Department, the Outlook puts forward a consistent set of projections for output, employment, prices and current balances based on a review of each member country and of the induced effect on each of them on international developments. - World Factbook
This link opens in a new window
The World Factbook (from the CIA) provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. - Country Report via Mergent Archives
- This link opens in a new window
Includes reports detailing essential political, economic and commercial information on over 130 countries worldwide.
Comprehensive information for evaluating risks and opportunities across the globe.
Other Useful Sources
- World Education EncyclopediaThis 3-volume country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. This updated and expanded edition gives users up-to-date coverage of reorganized educational systems and high-interest topics such as technological advances.
- Governments of the WorldThis wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia describes and analyzes how the governments profiled affect citizens in the daily exercise of their rights and responsibilities. Arranged alphabetically and richly illustrated, Governments of the World features biographies and historical surveys on different types of political systems, such as constitutional monarchies, presidential systems, democracies and dictatorships, and much more.
- Food Cultures of the World EncyclopediaIntroduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world, including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places.
Countries of the world and their leaders yearbook 2011- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 1414453396Publication Date: 2010Compilation of U.S. Department of State reports on contemporary political and economic conditions, government personnel and policies, political parties, religions, history, education, press, radio and TV, climate, and other characteristics of selected countries of the world; together with travel alerts, passport and visa information, world health information for travelers, and customs and duty tips for returning residents.
- Encyclopedia of Global Health
- This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of global health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities. - Encyclopedia of PoliticsThis two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1) and those considered on the right, in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).
Primary Source Materials
- Immigration and Multiculturalism: Essential Primary SourcesProvides primary source documents focused on immigration and multiculturalism in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context. International in scope.
- Black Thought and Culture: African Americans from Colonial Times to the Present
- This link opens in a new window
Speeches, essays, articles, letters, leaflets, trials, interviews, monographs and periodicals written by leaders within the black community from 1700 to 2005. Over 100,000 pages illustrate the evolution of what it means to "be black." Authors include teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, and entertainers. - Empire Online
- This link opens in a new window
Over 60,000 manuscripts and documents covering the reach of the British Empire, all the way to Australasia, South Asia, Africa, and the Americas. Also includes references to biographies and chronologies. - Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Includes documents from the United States and Europe as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, this resource also includes documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.