Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Theory

A guide for undergraduate and graduate researchers of music theory

Searching Journals and Periodicals

Below you will find links to databases specifially for journals, periodicals, and articles.  You will find more information and a focus on JSTOR, RIPM, Music Index, and Music Periodicals Database using the drop down menu on the 'Journals, Periodicals, and Articles' tab at the top of the page.

JSTOR

JSTOR

JSTOR is a shared digital library which currently includes more than 2,000 core academic journals along with monographs and other materials..

Click on the link below to begin your search.

Search RIPM

Search RIPM
Limit Your Results

Search Music Index

Search Music Index
Limit Your Results

Search Music Periodicals Database

Search RILM

RILM
Limit Your Results

Music Indexes

     

Other Indexes & Databases

Search Music Periodicals Database (IIMP)

Need help? The Music Periodicals Database Research Guide has tutorials, tips, and more.

How to Get Full-Text

When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to links for the full-text of the article or let you know that we do not have electronic full-text for that article.

If the full-text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a hardcopy of the article or request an interlibrary loan (ILL), if needed.

Frequently Asked Questions about View Now

Having trouble? Ask Us for help.

Oxford Bibliographies in Music

In Oxford Bibliographies in Music, each article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways to the most important works for virtually all areas of music.

Clink on the [+] Find this resource: link to access online content available through UK Libraries.

Open-Access Music Journals

Open-access journals are digital, online journals that are free to access and often free of most copyright and licensing restrictions.

ILLiad InterLibrary Loan

Use InterLibrary Loan to get an article that UK does not own.

Login to ILLiad.