RIPM : Répertoire International de la Presse Musicale
Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (RIPM) provides access to eighteenth-, nineteenth- and twentieth-century periodical literature dealing with music. RIPM focuses on music and musical life from approximately 1800 to 1950.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
This link opens in a new window
An international annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture published in 17 countries between 1766-1962. Indexes the content of complete runs of journals and offers access to thousands of English-language translations of foreign documents. Some direct access to the full-text of the article cited.
Search RIPM
Journal Titles in RIPM
Journal titles and years of coverage in RIPM can be found here: Journal Titles in RIPM
You can even click on individual titles to bring up *every* article from that journal (if you want...)
Mobile App for RIPM
A mobile app for RIPM is available from EBSCO. EBSCO mobile app
You will need to use your UK LinkBlue email to receive the code required for this app.
Click the EBSCOhost iPhone or Android Applications link and enter an email address which you can access from your device. An email with an authentication key will be sent to you.
Audio & Video Streaming
- American Music
- This link opens in a new window
A vast collection of music streaming files. American Music includes contemporary folk/roots/Americana music, early rock & roll, soul, funk, R&B, doo-wop, boogie-woogie, early Biograph recordings, blues, jazz, gospel, spirituals, disco, blues-rock, reggae, bluegrass, country, rockabilly, and honky-tonk. - Smithsonian Global Sound
- This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a virtual collection of the world's musical and aural traditions. Comprised of thousands tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds, this streaming encyclopedia provides listeners with a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
What Is RIPM?
RIPM is a citation index. A database of full-text exists, but is not carried by the University of Kentucky Libraries.
COVERAGE is from approximately 1800 to1950.
FORMATS INDEXED are musical periodicals from Europe and North and South America.
SUBJECTS focus on music and musical life.
FULL TEXT may be available online for some materials. Look for the "Get Text @ UK" icon or select the "Linked Full Text" option on the search page.
- RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
An international annotated bibliography of writings on musical history and culture published in 17 countries between 1766-1962. Indexes the content of complete runs of journals and offers access to thousands of English-language translations of foreign documents. Some direct access to the full-text of the article cited.
Tips for Searching RIPM
|
Search Strategy |
Form/Symbols Used |
Sample Search |
Retrieves--- |
|
Boolean Operators |
AND OR NOT |
mozart AND requiem
|
records with both terms
|
|
|
|
opera OR musical |
records with at least one of the terms |
| jazz NOT blues | records that contain "jazz" but exclude "blues" | ||
|
Truncation |
* |
symphon* |
symphony, , symphonic, symphonisches, etc. |
|
Wild Card : Alternate Spelling |
# |
sch#nberg |
schonberg, schönberg, schoenberg |
|
Wild Card: Unknown Character |
? |
despre? |
despres, desprez |
|
Phrases |
“ ” |
“figured bass” |
the EXACT phrase; good for song titles |
|
Nesting/Parentheses |
( ) |
(nijinsky AND ballet) NOT stravinsky |
items that exclude "stravinsky", but contain both "nijinsky" and "ballet" |
|
Proximity |
n# |
machaut n5 virelai |
results within 5 words of each other, any order |
|
|
w# |
machaut w5 virelai |
results within 5 words of each other, in order specified |
Suggestions to help you get started:
- Advanced Search Start with this search mode
- Boolean/Phrase Use this default
- Apply related words Check this box to include true synonyms and plurals of your terms
- Limits Set limits for Publication Date, Language, Linked Full Text, Document Type