Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wade Hall Collection of American Letters: Related Materials

Research Services Assistant

Profile Photo
Sarah Coblentz
Contact:
Special Collections Research Center
Margaret I. King Library

Sponsor

Through a National Endowment for the Humanities Collections and Reference Resources Grant awarded in 2018, the project "P.S. Write Again Soon": Revealing 200 years of the American Mosaic through the Wade Hall Collection of American Letters has focused on making available the materials in the collection through publishing of collection guides and digitization of select collections.

Other Wade Hall Collections at SCRC

Along with the Wade Hall Collection of American Letters, SCRC also holds the papers and oral history of Wade Hall's research on civil rights leader Lyman T. Johnson, an oral history with Wade Hall, and his quilt collection:

Comprises the research collected and writings by Wade Hall about civil rights leader Lyman T. Johnson. This research includes taped oral history interviews, event invitations, programs, books, manuscript drafts, newspaper clippings, and photographs about Johnson's early life in Tennessee and activism in Kentucky education systems.

These interviews were conducted by Wade Hall with Lyman T. Johnson for his book "The Rest of the Dream: The Black Odyssey of Lyman Johnson." The interviews document Johnson's life and career as well as his role in desegregating the University of Kentucky in 1949.

Wade Hall discusses his family history and childhood, time in the army, interest in Southern literature and oral history, and his vast collections of all sorts of things.

Includes quilts purchased in Kentucky, West Virginia, Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois, with the oldest in the collection dating back to 1860. Many of the quilts were used and loved over the course of their lifetime before coming to the University of Kentucky.

Wade Hall Collections at Other Institutions