Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Distance Learning Library Services: Home

About Distance Learning Library Services (DLLS)

The Distance Learning (DL) Library Service, via the DL Librarian, assists students and faculty in determining the most effective ways to use academic library research materials via e-mail, chat, phone, Zoom, or in person. The policy of the DLLS is to provide access to library materials and information resources for students who take online and hybrid courses, as well as for the faculty who teach those classes. DL students are to receive the same caliber of library services and have access to the same information sources as on-campus students and faculty, including: access to both print and electronic materials, research databases, interlibrary loan, and research guides on topics in a variety of disciplines, as well as course-specific guides.

• Providing access to information resources and materials from the UK Libraries collection, or Interlibrary Loan, and delivered electronically or in paper via U.S. Mail.
• Offering research consultations and information literacy instruction sessions. Contact Carla Cantagallo to schedule. Providing reference services through e-mail, chat, phone, Zoom, or in person.
• Offering copyright assistance and assisting with links to library resources.
• Serving as an embedded librarian in courses using Canvas.
• Assisting with EndNote.
• Creating course-specific library guides and connecting students to other relevant research guides.

FAQs

How do I know if I qualify for Distance Learning Library Services?

You qualify for Distance Learning Library Services if you are enrolled in, or teach, classes that have a 200 level section number. Example: ENG 400-201.

Do I have to get a library card in order to use Distance Learning Library Services? 

Yes, a library card is necessary in order for us to check books out to you through the UK library, just as if you were on campus. Your library card barcode number is used to provide access to our databases, ebooks, and e-journals remotely. You can request a library card using the Request Form link under Distance Learning Library Card →. 

How do I apply for a card?

The Request Form link is under Distance Learning Library Card→. 

If I want to borrow a book from the library what will it cost me? How do I return materials when I am done?

UK Libraries will absorb the cost of shipping materials to you. You are responsible for the cost and return of materials either by shipping or physically returning them to UK Libraries. We suggest you use Library Rate Shipping because it tends to be cheaper. The exception to this rule is when we need to use Interlibrary loan to acquire materials for you. In those cases we will pay shipping costs both ways. 

How do I request a book or article through Distance Learning Library Services?

We now have a new process for Document Delivery. You will need an ILL/Interlibrary Loan account for all requests. For more information, or to make a request, view our Document Delivery and Interlibrary Loan page.

What if I am taking a mixture of face-to-face and Distance Learning courses, do I still qualify for Distance Learning Library Services?

Yes, you do qualify. If you have any questions regarding DL Library Services you can always contact the Distance Learning Librarian: Carla Cantagallo.

If I still have questions, who can I ask for help?

Carla Cantagallo. See Distance Learning Librarian→

 Is there a limit to how many materials I can request?

You have the same privileges as on-campus students. See Circulation Policies for contact information.

"I must write a 20 page paper for my class and my professor says that I need 20 articles for the paper.  Where do I start?"

You can start by searching for your topic in a database that indexes/abstracts your subject. There is a list of UK databases in the Databases tab located at the top of this research guide. If you don't know which database is appropriate to use you can always contact us-we are here to help! 

Library Services After Hours

Chat: Mon – Thurs: 9:00 am – 8:00 pm
          Fri: 9:00 am – 5:00 pm
         Sat – Sun: noon – 5:00 pm

Text: 859-904-2733

After hours at UK Libraries? Email your questions to: refdesk@uky.edu. Email requests after hours are generally answered within one business day.

Are you located in a time zone where the time difference is between 6-12 hours or more? Check the time at UK (U.S. Eastern Standard Time) using this link: Every Time Zone

Distance Learning Library Card

Distance Learning (DL) students, faculty and staff must first request a library card before checking out materials and before creating their ILL account: Library Card Request Form University of Kentucky Libraries

Distance Learning Librarian

If you have any questions or need assistance with DL Library Services, please contact the Distance Learning Librarian:

Carla Cantagallo

2-2, North Wing, 2nd floor, Young Library

Email: carla@uky.edu

Phone: (859) 218-1240

Carla Cantagallo, Disability Services

Carla Cantagallo is the Head of the Distance Learning Library Service and the Liaison for Disability Services at UK Libraries. If you are a UK student with a documented disability and need access to adaptive equipment or have additional accessibility needs, please contact Carla at Carla@uky.edu 

Citation Help

Purdue OWL Citation Resources Guide. 

This Online Writing Lab research and citation page from Purdue University provides examples on how to cite sources ranging from scholarly articles to interviews to TV episodes in MLA, APA and Chicago style.