Company Research
It is important to learn more about the companies that you are interested in or interviewing with. This information is found on both public sites and in library databases.
1. Company websites: Look for an "About Us" section or "Investor Information." Public companies will often include links to their annual reports that they distribute to shareholders. Also look for a "News" section to see what they are highlighting.
2. Annual Reports: All public companies are required to file detailed financial reports with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). These are filed annually (10-K) and quarterly (10-Q).
3. Company Profiles: Several databases offer comprehensive company profiles that provide overviews of the company, complete with SWOT analysis.
4. News Searches: Search databases to stay up-to-date on its actions and breaking news.
Company Profiles
Many business databases provide detailed company profiles that include information on the company's finances, executives, history, competitors, SWOT analysis, and more.
- Business Source Complete
This link opens in a new window
To access detailed company reports, select "More" from the top menu bar and then click on "Company Profiles." - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
To research a company, scroll down to "Business" under "Discover Topics." Then select "Find a Company" under "Company Dossier" on the left side. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Search by company name to find statistical information, market forecasts, and industry reports. Look for a "Dossier" that group statistics on the company in one place. - Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Find company snapshots by clicking on "Companies / Markets" in the top menu bar and then selecting "Company." - EDGAR (SEC.gov)
This link opens in a new window
SEC Filings and Forms. The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
News Searches
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of thousands of business publications, journals, magazines, industry, and market research reports. Search for articles about a company by changing the box to the right of the search box to "CO Company Entity." - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
The "Company Dossier" includes a link to news on the company. On the main search page, scroll down to "Business" under "Discover Topics." Then select "Find a Company" under "Company Dossier" on the left side. There is a link to "News" on the left. - Regional Business News
- This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic access to 75 regional business publications, many with full-text available.