Reference Resources
An Annotated Bibliography of Oceanic Music and Dance by Call Number: REFERENCE ML113 .D470 n.74
Hawaiian Music and Musicians: An Encyclopedic History by Call Number: REFERENCE ML200.7 .H4 H46 20122nd ed.
Hawaiian Music and Musicians: An Illustrated History by Call Number: REFERENCE ML200.7 .H4 H45
Books
Austronesian Soundscapes: Performing Arts in Oceania and Southeast Asia by Call Number: ONLINE
A Distinctive Voice in the Antipodes: Essays in Honour of Stephen A. Wild by Call Number: ONLINE
Hawaiian Music in Motion: Mariners, Missionaries, and Minstrels by Call Number: ONLINE & ML200.7 .H4 C37 2014
Music in Pacific Island Cultures by Call Number: ML3774 .D54 2011 & CD 12526
Theatre and Music in Manila and the Asia Pacific, 1869-1946: Sounding Modernities by Call Number: ML541 .P68 Y36 2018
Weavers of Song: Polynesian Music and Dance by Call Number: ONLINE
Composers, Performers & Repertory (Online)
- Asian American Pacific Islander MusiciansA growing collection of interviews with AAPI musicians, performers, and composers in classical and popular music.
- Commissioned Composers of Asian and Pacific Islander Heritage (Library of Congress)Blog post from the Library of Congress.
Publishers & Labels
- Hula RecordsFounded in 1947, more information can be found at Discogs.com
- Kiwi Pacific Records"The music, voices and sounds of New Zealand and the Pacific."
- The Mountain Apple CompanyOffers extensive catalog of recorded Hawaiian and Polynesian music. Links to Apple Music, Spotify, and Facebook for artists.
- Neos ProductionsReggae, Ukulele, Island Contemporary, Hawaiian, Rock and Alternative music with a Pacific Island flavor.
Archives & Collections
- Hawaiian Music Collection (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa)Holds has approximately 20,000 total phonodiscs and 2000 recordings in other formats such as cassette tape and reel-to-reel tape. The UHM Library is in the process of digitizing the older formats in the collection to preserve the recordings
Additional Online Resources
- Hawaiian MusicThe music of Hawaii includes an array of traditional and popular styles, ranging from native Hawaiian folk music to modern rock and hip hop. From last.fm
- Island Music Source Book (University of Hawaiʻi Community Colleges - Honolulu)Index to over 38,8000 Hawaiian music songs through 1999. Search by keyword, title, album, artist, and label. Includes links to websites and commercial sites.
- Maori MusicIncludes an overview, artists, albums, and tracks. From Last.fm
- Queen Lili'uokalani (Lili'uokalani Trust)The last ruling monarch of Hawai'i, Queen Lili'uokalani was also a composer.
- St. Louis Symphony Orchestra Celebrates AAPI MonthPerformances of works by Tan Dun, Huang Ruo, Bright sheng, Chen Yi, and other composers.
Audio & Visual Resources
Smithsonian Global Sound
Spotify
- Taimane GardnerBorn in Hawaii and of Samoan descent, Taimane is a composer and renowned ukulele player
- Te VakaTe Vaka is a Contemporary Polynesian band acclaimed for its distinct original sound and un-touristy devotion to the South Pacific and the stories of its ancestors.
UK Libraries
Kumu Hula: Keepers of a Culture by Call Number: DVD 1294
UK Libraries Databases
- Smithsonian Global Sound
This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Global Sound is a collection of the world's musical and aural traditions. Search by geographic location, cultural group, genre, instruments, etc.
Subject Headings & Call Numbers
►SUBJECT HEADINGS & THE ADVANCED SEARCH
These links will launch searches in the Advanced Search:
For your own search:
- Go to Advanced Search
- Search for Library Catalog
- Search Filters Subject contains [type your terms here]
- Material Type All items [or specific format]
Scores and AV are best searched by composer, performer, and/or genre, and limiting to the material type Scores, Audio, or Videos, for example:
- Go to Advanced Search
- Search for Library Catalog
- Search Filters Author/creator contains Jake Shimabukuro
- AND Subject contains guitar
- Material Type Videos
►CALL NUMBERS -- BOOKS
- ML200 .H4 Hawaiian music -- History and criticism
- ML3560 .H3 Hawaiian folk, national, and ethnic music
►CALL NUMBERS -- SCORES
Works in the Western art music tradition are not generally given separate call numbers that indicate ethnicity, gender, orientation, or place of birth. See the document below of an outline of the Library of Congress Classification System for scores: