It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 651 - American Literature Pre-1860: Books, Periodicals and Newspapers
A guide to primary resources for students of ENG 651
Full-text access to colonial and early American history. Also covers large collection of African American publications. With issues from over 700 titles (for many titles the holdings are scattered); includes Kentucky titles.
Since 1800 over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Includes full-text access to American County Histories: Kentucky, Godey's Lady's Book, History of Woman Suffrage, Pennsylvania Gazette (Philadelphia, Pa.), Pennsylvania Packet, Scenes from the Life of Harriet Tubman, Twelve Years a Slave.
Cross-search Readex databases: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; American Broadsides and Ephemera, 1760-1900; and Early American Newspapers.
Over 36,000 texts covering life in 17th- and 18th-century America, e.g., agriculture and auctions, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft. Based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans, enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement. As of July 13, 2010, includes the Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.
Fully searchable full-text of 30,000 posters, playbills, proclamations, menus, advertisements, invitations, fliers, certificates, billheads, ship cards, deathbed confessions, pop songs, etc. illustrating a fascinating range of life in 18th- and 19th-century America.
Scanned and searchable full-text images from over 1,000 American magazines and journals, including 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 and 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras. Coverage includes popular and scholarly as well as regional and niche publications.
Bringing together rare journals printed between c1685 and 1835, this resource covers social, political and literary life, providing an opportunity to examine a variety of topical issues, and to compare a range of perspectives on the debates of the day.
More than 6,500 historical periodical titles from the Colonial Era through the early 20th Century (1684-1912), ranging from early works imported by the colonists to later titles published on American soil.
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Designed for the general reader, this set presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives. The set, which is "new historicist" in its approach to literary criticism, endorses the notion that not only does history affect literature, but literature itself informs history.