It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 651 - American Literature Pre-1860: Politics and Law
A guide to primary resources for students of ENG 651
Provides access to four American Founding Era collections:
Adams Papers Digital Edition
Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution
The Papers of Thomas Jefferson Digital Edition
Founders Early Access
Contains the published records and codes of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, early state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, and digests. A fully searchable digital archive drawing on documents from the Harvard Law School Library, the Yale Law Library, and the Law Library of Congress.
Single search for indexes and records for nearly 250 years of U.S. Federal government information. Includes The Annals of Congress, Register of Debates and Congressional Globe. Includes links to the full text at the Library of Congress’ American Memory.
The U.S. Serial Set, a full-text collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress, includes Congressional reports and documents, executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress, the American State Papers, and all maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs found within the U.S. Serial Set during the time period covered.
Digitized full-text version of the bound edition of the Congressional Record and its predecessor publications, the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates of Congress (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1824-1837).
Contains new and updated original articles covering recent concepts (i.e. adoption, race, the Constitution, birthright citizenship) and court cases since 1992 offering comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework (Supreme Court Justices, Presidents, Cabinet Members, Lawyers, and more). Also covers judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court.
Designed to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers behavior? This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.
Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more. Covers such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide.