It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 651 - American Literature Pre-1860: History Collections
A guide to primary resources for students of ENG 651
Sourced from The National Archives UK, the first two modules of Colonial America document the early history of the colonies, from frontier life, early expansion and rivalries to the journey toward revolution.
This resource documents the founding and economic development of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. It shows the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America from Jamestown to the Bermudas and provides a rich source for the study of trade between Britain and America.
This collection looks at the history of ‘popular’ remedies and treatments in nineteenth century America, through primary source materials from the collections at the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The intended audience for these materials was the ordinary man in the street rather than medical professionals.
Digital publishing initiative by the University of North Carolina Library that contains primary sources on the cultural history of the American South. Autobiographies, travel accounts, diaries, etc. regarding slavery and regional literature are included. The 19th century is emphasized.
American West is comprised of original manuscripts, rare printed books, maps and ephemeral material from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago, and covering topics including the growth of urban centres, the environmental impact of westward expansion and life in the borderlands.
The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
A three-volume survey of the formative years of the United States, starting just prior to the American Revolution and ending with the inauguration of Andrew Jackson in 1829. Presents 671 alphabetically arranged entries focusing on the major political markers and milestones, as well as the art, music, literature and daily life, of this period. For secondary and college students, researchers, and general readers.
Designed for the general reader, this set presents literature not as a simple inventory of authors or titles but rather as a historical and cultural field viewed from a wide array of contemporary perspectives. The set, which is "new historicist" in its approach to literary criticism, endorses the notion that not only does history affect literature, but literature itself informs history.
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, the set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, and much more.