Business and Economics Liaison
Jennifer Horne
She/Her
Contact:
I am here to help you with your research! Please email me your questions or make an appointment for either an in-person or Zoom consultation.
859-218-1409
Additional Business Resources
- Introduction to Business ResourcesThis research guide includes links to the most commonly used databases for business students, as well as information on searching for company, industry, and consumer information.
- Business Source Complete
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for thousands of business journals and other sources, peer-reviewed business publications, trade journals/general business magazines, books (most indexed by chapter), industry reports and market research reports.
- Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Statista integrates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from over 22,000 sources onto a single platform, providing researchers direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. It also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks. - Mintel Academic
- This link opens in a new window
More than 600 report titles dealing with consumer and market reports covering U.K., European, U.S. and international consumer markets are added to Mintel every year. Also includes daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity; market share and drivers; forecasts; and leading company information.
- First Research Industry Intelligence
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to: Over 900 Industry Segments, updated regularly with monthly statistics and indicators as well as quarterly trend updates; Call Prep Sheets for preparation for sales calls when time is limited; State Profiles to monitor monthly employment, business and real estate trends in each of the 50 US states.
Country Risk Analysis Resources
Country Reports:
- Statista Country Outlooks: Provides current key figures and forecasts on the economic and social development of a country. NOTE: Be sure to use the drop down menu under segment to find indicators under additional categories, like labor force and business environment. The charts and tables can all be downloaded as images or Excel spreadsheets.
- Political Country Reports from PRS assess potential political, financial, and economic risks to business investments and trade in over 100 countries. Each report includes information on recent events, profiles of key political players, and forecasts of risk factors in the next 18 months and 5 years. To access these country reports, search for them in Business Source Complete. Searching for PRS and the country name will bring up the Political Risk Yearbook Country Report.
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) reports can be accessed through Nexis Uni. This link will allow you to search only this title. Just enter your country name plus "outlook" into the search bar. This will not return one long country report, but instead will have many different different reports with economic and political analysis.
Hint: Be sure to toggle the duplicate groupings to ON to minimize duplicate results!
- Coface, a global credit insurer, has country risk analysis reports with grades. Use the drop down menu under "Economic Studies."
- Country Commercial Guides from the U.S. International Trade Administration include reports on market conditions, opportunities, regulations and business customs prepared by U.S. Embassies by professionals from the Commerce Department, State Department, and other U.S. federal agencies.
- The Institute for Management Development (IMD) World Competitiveness Index ranks 64 countries on 334 competitiveness criteria. (All of the recommended countries for this assignment are in this index). Be sure to check out the individual country profiles - download in PDF to see everything on one page.
- Corruption Perception Rankings by Transparency International ranks 180 countries and territories by their perceived levels of public sector corruption.
Sovereign Ratings:
- S&P Global Sovereign Ratings. Register for Capital IQ using your UK email address and create an account to access content. It is FREE for current UK students but you must use your UK email.
News:
- Access World News includes over 1,300 foreign English-language news resources.