It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIS 208: History of the Atlantic World - Afro-Latin America
A guide to the library resources for students in HIS 208. Fall 2022.
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Please note: To limit your search to the contents of a specific title, select within this publication in the Quick Search box or choose Limit the results by publication title in the Advanced Search and type in the name of the resource you wish to search. Searches without limits include all resources in the GVRL.
Quick-reference coverage of a broad range of subjects. Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes over 130 subject dictionaries covering everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics. Quotations, 500+ full-color maps and flags, 12,000 images.
Presents the major forces that have shaped the country both historically and culturally, offering a close look at themes emblematic to the nation's history. Features articles on works of art and nonfiction, political documents, speeches, testimonies, flashpoint events and places of cultural significance.
A comprehensive guide to over 150 invasions, conquests, battles and occupations, from the ancient times to the present. This guide offers articles on the Coalition Invasion of Iraq, the Serbian Invasion of Bosnia-Herzegovina, the Soviet & UN's Invasions of Afghanistan and much more. For high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs and hobbyists.
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, the set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, and much more.
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists.