It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIS 499/AAS 401 - Black Freedom Struggles
A guide to the library resources for students in HIS 499/AAS 401. Fall 2022
A landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.
The primary source material in this collection focuses on race relations across social, political, cultural and religious arenas, with particular focus on Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
ProQuest History Vault includes the following digitized archives: the NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People) Paper, Records of the Children's Bureau (1912-1969), Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army, and FBI Confidential Files & Radical Politics in the U.S., 1945-1972.
The searchable catalog contains the records for over 14,000 interviews and nearly 600 oral history projects. Allows users to browse the collections and projects based on subjects or names or conduct a search of the collections, projects, and interviews. Users can follow links from the catalog record to interviews or projects that are available online or request to use interviews that are not yet online by using the online form.