It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 230: Intro to Minority Literature
A guide to the library resources for ENG 230 - Intro to Minority Literature - Fall 2022.
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Please note: To limit your search to the contents of a specific title, select within this publication in the Quick Search box or choose Limit the results by publication title in the Advanced Search and type in the name of the resource you wish to search. Searches without limits include all resources in the GVRL.
Quick-reference coverage of a broad range of subjects. Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes over 130 subject dictionaries covering everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics. Quotations, 500+ full-color maps and flags, 12,000 images.
This biographical collection details the lives and works of poets active in the late 20th and early 21st centuries. Poet essays focus on a single poet and include an analysis of their significant poems or collections, and include lists of their poetry and other works and achievements. The title also surveys recent schools and literary movements, and important themes in contemporary poetry, through the lens of literary history. Also includes a bibliography for further study.
Covers American authors from many periods and genres, building a broad understanding of the various contexts - from the biographical to the literary to the historical - in which literature can be viewed.
Contains entries on Asian American literature, including writers, special topics, events, and terms. Covers literature by North American writers of Asian descent from the late 1890s to 2007, within a variety of contexts.
Provides insight into the careers of nearly 500 20th-century American writers, including black and women writers. Entries include important critical excerpts, chronologically arranged and collected from a wide variety of sources such as books, scholarly journals, general periodicals and newspapers.
Provides coverage on the best-known American women writers spanning from colonial days to the present, including biography, criticism, and bibliography for each; also includes lesser-known writers whose work is found in journals, letters, stories, and even hymns. Entries feature an assessment of the writer's works; basic biography and complete bibliography, as well as comprehensive data on writers' names, including pseudonyms, aliases, parents' names and husbands' names, etc.
This new edition documents the ever-growing African American literary tradition, from centuries ago to modern storytellers, and includes new and updated entries. The title explores African American writers’ inspiration to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how they contributed to American culture. Alphabetical entries include biographical details, literary career, and a list of major works in all genres.
This six-volume set explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times. Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the "Lost Generation," lesbian literature, and much more.
Provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.