General
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Please note: To limit your search to the contents of a specific title, select within this publication in the Quick Search box or choose Limit the results by publication title in the Advanced Search and type in the name of the resource you wish to search. Searches without limits include all resources in the GVRL.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowQuick-reference coverage of a broad range of subjects. Brings together language and subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. Includes over 130 subject dictionaries covering everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics. Quotations, 500+ full-color maps and flags, 12,000 images.
Online Encyclopedias
- Food Cultures of the World EncyclopediaIntroduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world, including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places.
- Encyclopaedia JudaicaUpdated edition of this lauded work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
- Middle East & North AfricaThis volume provides insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices of countries in the Middle East and North Africa.
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North AfricaThe set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.
- At the Table: Food and Family around the WorldThis book examines all aspects of dinner in international settings, enabling cross-cultural comparisons and an understanding of the effects of modernization and globalization on food habits.
- Encyclopedia of Jewish American Popular CultureThis unique encyclopedia chronicles American Jewish popular culture, past and present in music, art, food, religion, literature, and more.
- Food and Drink in American History: A 'Full Course' Encyclopedia [3 Volumes] : A 'Full Course' EncyclopediaThis standout reference work comprises two volumes containing more than 600 alphabetically arranged historical entries on American foods and beverages, as well as dozens of historical recipes for traditional American foods; and a third volume of more than 120 primary source documents.
- Ethnic American Food Today : A Cultural EncyclopediaEthnic American Food Today introduces readers to the myriad ethnic food cultures in the U.S. today. Entries are organized alphabetically by nation and present the background and history of each food culture along with explorations of the place of that food in mainstream American society today.
- Savoring Gotham : A Food Lover's Companion to New York CitySavoring Gotham weaves the full tapestry of the city's rich gastronomy in nearly 570 accessible, informative A-to-Z entries.
- American Food by the DecadesA survey of American food trends highlights the key inventions, brands, restaurant chains, and individuals that shaped the American diet and palate in the 20th century.
- Cooking through History: A Worldwide Encyclopedia of Food with Menus and RecipesThis reference surveys food culture and cooking from antiquity to the modern era, providing background information along with menus and recipes.
- Food: In ContextExamines food in relationship to nutrition, world health issues, agriculture, environmental concerns, current events and political decision-making.