Skip to Main Content

Learning Lab: What to Expect in the Learning Lab

Learn more about the Learning Lab at the UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center. This guide is specifically for students who are interested in applying to become a Learning Lab intern.

The Learning Lab is an internship program established by the UK Libraries Special Collections Research Center located in the heart of the UK campus. A selected cohort of interns learns about archives--what they are and why they matter to society--and also learns how to conduct in-depth, independent research projects. Students synthesize their research into tangible findings that are presented at conferences and symposia, or even through published articles. We do a lot within one year, so this page will illustrate intern activity during the fall and spring semesters of the year-long internship.

Fall Semester

The fall semester prepares the foundation students need to understand primary sources and primary source research.

  • Meet as a group once a week for two hours. 
  • Students have readings and assignments that take place outside of the archives.
  • Weekly discussions include archival topics such as:
    • Archival Theory and History
    • Provenance
    • Security
    • Arrangement & Description
    • Appraisal
    • Primary Source Research
  • Students are given their collections.
  • Form research question based on collection.
  • Write and submit conference abstract.

Spring Semester

The spring semester is dedicated to conducting research and processing the collections.

  • Meet as a group once a week for two hours.
  • Conduct thorough research on topic.
  • Support each other through the research process.
  • Disseminate research findings through conference presentations and/or published articles.
  • Process the collection so that future researchers will be able to access it.
  • Discuss research and the Learning Lab experience at UK Libraries event.