Some Useful Books
Veracruz and the Caribbean in the Seventeenth Century by ISBN: 9781009180313Publication Date: 2023-01-19Weaving elements of environmental, social, and cultural history, it examines both Veracruz's internal dynamics and its external relationships.
Colonial Blackness by ISBN: 0253353386Publication Date: 2009-06-01This book offers a radical reconfiguration of Latin American history. Using ecclesiastical and inquisitorial records, Herman L. Bennett frames the history of Mexico around the private lives and liberty that Catholicism engendered among enslaved Africans and free blacks, who became majority populations soon after the Spanish conquest.
Africans in Colonial Mexico by ISBN: 0253342368Publication Date: 2003-06-01From secular and ecclesiastical court records. Bennett reconstructs the lives of slave and free blacks, their regulation by the government and by the Church, the impact of the Inquisition, their legal status in marriage, and their rights and obligations as Christian subjects.
Working the Diaspora by ISBN: 0814763693Publication Date: 2012-08-22In Working the Diaspora, Frederick Knight examines work cultures on both sides of the Atlantic, from West and West Central Africa to British North America and the Caribbean.
The Akan Diaspora in the Americas by ISBN: 0195390644Publication Date: 2010-05-12The book examines the Akan experience in Guyana, Jamaica, Antigua, Barbados, former Danish and Dutch colonies, and North America, and how those early experiences foreground the modern engagement and movement of diasporic Africans and Akan people between Ghana and North America.
African's Life, 1745-1797 by ISBN: 0304702145Publication Date: 1998-10-01This is the first study which attempts to create a rounded portrait of the man behind the literary image, and to study Equiano in the context of Atlantic slavery.
Introduction to InfoKat Discovery
|
InfoKat Discovery can be a good place to start your research, as you can search for all types of information there (articles, books, and much more). If you click on Advanced Search search to the right of the search box, you can search InfoKat Discovery as the "Library Catalog." This will help you find library materials UK owns, such as books, videos, maps, music, and much more. The InfoKat Discovery Guide is helpful for learning how to use this powerful tool. This video provides a two minute overview for searching InfoKat Discovery. |
 |
Find Books and More Through InfoKat Discovery
InfoKat Discovery allows you to quickly search multiple library resources simultaneously.
InfoKat Discovery searches the majority of UK resources, including books, journal articles, dissertations, government documents, archives and special collections, images, maps, videos, music and open access content.
BUT, InfoKat Discovery does NOT include ALL of the journal articles available through our databases--some databases are not included in InfoKat Discovery.
If you are doing very specialized searching or wish to limit your search to a particular database, you can select the database of your choice using the UK Libraries' Databases search.
The UK Libraries arranges books by Library of Congress (LC) call number. LC call numbers begin with letters of the alphabet. For example, most books on language and literature are in the range of P call numbers.
If Young Library is the location, check the Young Library map to determine the floor and wing for each call number. The P call numbers (language and literature) are split between the 4th floor and 5th floor.
If a book is located in another campus library, be sure to note the library location and call number. Check our list of library locations and the hours for each library.