Historical Newspapers
-
London Times Digital Archive 1785-1985Over two centuries on-line for full-text searching of the London publication, more than 7 million articles, from 1785-1985. Widely recognized as the source for authoritative reports on politics, law, business and society. Extensive coverage of parliamentary debates, royal doings, obituaries, official appointments. Does not include the Sunday Times, the Times Literary Supplement, the Times Educational Supplement, the Times Higher Education Supplement. Also available in the Gale NewsVault, a searchable collection of historical newspapers.
-
New York Times Historical EditionSearchable full-text from ProQuest, with keyword searching and date limiting. This title is part of Proquest Historical Newspapers.
Videos
-
Salman Rushdie: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue SeaThis eloquent film on Salman Rushdie brings into sharp focus the conflict between freedom of expression and religious conservatism.
-
Interview with Sam SelvonSam Selvon reads from his work and Niala Maharaj interviews Samuel Selvon about his use of language.
-
KS3 Britain's Black History: Black BritonsHistorian Tony Warner shows how you can discover where to find Black History in your town or city. Many people believe that the first Black people to arrive in Britain were slaves or servants. However, if you look through British history there's evidence of influential African and Caribbean people back through the centuries.
-
Salman Rushdie: The Death on a TrailBased on rarely seen personal and historical archives and exclusive interviews recently shot in his house in New York, the film revisits Rushdie's life and literary work and questions the place of Novelists in the Era of fake news.