ENG 330 - African Identities

From the Pharaohs to Fanon, this book provides a comprehensive overview of the lives of the men and women who shaped Africa's history. The text covers the whole continent from Tunisia to South Africa, from Sierra Leone to Somalia.

This collection explores issues on all five continents, discussing examples from more than 50 countries through analysis by 40 top scholars across 8 disciplines. By exploring the past, present, and future of measures that have been implemented in an attempt to deal with migration—ranging from regularization procedures to criminalization—readers will be able to understand this worldwide phenomenon.

Covers major historical periods and relevant concepts, as well as discussions of various anti-immigration stances. Leading figures and groups in the anti-immigration movements of the past and present are also explored.

Focuses on writers and works published since 1950. The majority of the authors surveyed are African American, but representative African and Caribbean authors are also included.

Provides informative biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields, including architecture, art, business, dance, education, fashion, film, industry, journalism, law, literature, medicine, music, politics and government, publishing, religion, science and technology, social issues, sports, television, theater, and others.

This work provides readers with an overview of contemporary customs and life in North Africa and sub-Saharan Africa through discussions of key concepts and topics that touch everyday life among the nations' peoples.

This volume provides insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices of countries in Western and Central Africa.

Explores the many ways Africa and African peoples have shaped the cultural life of the Americas, and how, in turn, life in the Americas reverberates in Africa.

Provides an authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries.

Encyclopedia of American Immigration traces the scope and sweep of U.S. immigration from the earliest colonial settlements to the present, focusing on critical issues as well as the groups of people involved. Every major immigrant group and every era are fully documented and examined through detailed analysis of social, legal, political, economic, and demographic factors.

From: Nonfiction Classics for Students: Presenting Analysis, Context, and Criticism on Commonly Studied Nonfiction Works(Vol. 6. )

From: Short Stories for Students(Vol. 51. )
Publisher: Gale, part of Cengage Group