Here you will find general information about engineering and technology resources, and selected resources from our Special Collections Research Center.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by
This fifth edition builds carries on as a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers since the first edition in 1949. Includes adjustments to reflect developments in chemical technology covering chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; industrial processes & unit operations in chemical engineering; and fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology by
Written and peer reviewed by experts from around the globe, Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology provides up-to-date coverage of traditional topics of continuing interest to professionals, researchers, educators, and students, including polymeric materials, polymerization reactions, processing and finishing, properties, and morphology.
Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2014
Select Archival Engineering Materials at Special Collections
Special Collections has some unique archival materials that include papers and artifacts for College of Engineering alumnus.
- Margaret Ingels Papers Margaret Ingels was a University of Kentucky alumnus and a pioneer in the air conditioning industry. She was born October 25, 1892 in Paris, Kentucky and died in Lexington, Kentucky on December 13, 1971. She was the first women in the United States to receive an engineering graduate degree. She also received the first Bachelors and Masters degrees in engineering awarded to a woman by the University of Kentucky.
- Frank Fitch Notebooks The Frank Fitch Notebooks span from 1867 through 1873. During this period Frank Fitch, along with his brother Fred, built a furnace in Estill County Kentucky. The seven notebooks in this collection serve as documentation of the construction of that furnace.
Selected Engineering Oral History Collections
- Kentucky Transportation Center (KTC) Oral History Project The KTC is part of the College of Engineering and serves as a hub for interdisciplinary research and technology transfer on the diverse issues associated with providing safe, efficient, and fiscally responsible transportation systems. Interviewees describe partnerships with the KTC, the FHA, and governmental agencies throughout Kentucky.
- Chasing Sound Oral History Project This is a collection of interviews conducted by Susan Schmidt Horning for her book "Chasing Sound: Technology, Culture, and the Art of Studio Recording from Edison to the LP (Studies in Industry and Society)." Included are interviews with some of the most established and creative audio engineers and musicians of the 1950's, 60's, and 70's.