It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hispanic Studies: Grants & Scholarships
This research guide is designed to provide access to the resources that focus on materials related to Hispanic Studies.
The Duke Human Rights Archive aims to promote and foster scholarship in the history of human rights by offering short-term Marshall T. Meyer Research Travel Grants. The grants cover expenses up to $2,000 for researchers traveling internationally, and $1,500 for researchers traveling within the USA. The Human Rights Archive at Duke’s Rubenstein Library holds collections of global importance that document human rights histories in North America, Latin America and the Caribbean, Africa, the Middle East, and Asia, as well as across national and regional borders. Our collections document immigration, incarceration, restorative justice, labor, gender, and many other human rights related topics.
LLILAS Benson Latin American Studies and Collections at The University of Texas at Austin announces the availability of travel fellowships for faculty from community colleges and qualified Minority Serving Institutions (MSIs) across the U.S. to conduct research at the Nettie Lee Benson Latin American Collection, one of the premier libraries in the world focused on Latin America. In accordance with Title VI National Resource Center guidelines, this funding is limited to projects that focus on countries in Latin America, and does not include the United States and Puerto Rico.
Michigan State University Libraries invites applications for research grants for the summer of 2020. The grants are intended to help scholars who live more than 100 miles from East Lansing whose research would benefit from on-site access to the rich primary source collections housed in MSU Libraries’ Special Collections. Five grants of $3,000 will be awarded based on the overall promise of the research project and the significance of MSU’s Special Collections to the work. The on-site research period must run for at least one week between May 1 and September 30 of the year awarded. For more information on MSU Special Collections, including the José F. Treviño Chicanx/Latinx Activism Collection, visit the Special Collections website: https://lib.msu.edu/spc/collections/
The grant competition is open to graduate students from across the University of Kentucky campus. We encourage everyone to apply; however, depending on the number of applications received, priority will be given to students who have not received support in the last two years. Support is available for Master's thesis research and preliminary doctoral dissertation projects. Recipients must spend at least two weeks at the site of research. Though most grants are awarded for summer travel, applications for winter travel are also accepted.
Research Travel Grants support projects that present creative approaches, including historical research and documentation projects resulting in dissertations, publications, exhibitions, educational initiatives, documentary films, or other multimedia products and artistic works.
Research projects must use materials from the Human Rights Archive's collections and include a focus on human rights and social justice. Anyone who wishes to use materials from the Human Rights Archive's collections for historical research related to the history of human rights may apply, regardless of academic status.
Applicants for study/research awards design their own projects and will typically work with advisers at foreign universities or other institutes of higher education. The study/research awards are available in approximately 140 countries. Program requirements vary by country, so the applicants' first step is to familiarize themselves with the program summary for the host country.
The IUPLR/UIC Mellon Fellows Program is a dissertation completion fellowship that seeks to foster, mentor, and professionalize a national cohort of Humanities doctoral students focusing on Latino Studies in order to maximize effective progress to complete the PhD, increase job-market readiness, build community, and impart sustainable writing habits.
The Bogliasco Foundation supports the arts and humanities by providing residential fellowships at its study center in Italy’s most vibrant, historic crossroads, a place where gifted artists and scholars of all cultures come together to connect, create, and disseminate significant new work. To that end, the foundation is inviting applications for its fall 2020 fellowship program. The program awards one-month fellowships to individuals of all ages and nationalities who have made significant contributions in the arts and humanities. Fellows live and work in bucolic surroundings on the coast near Genoa, Italy, a place where natural beauty combines with an intimate group setting to encourage inquiry and transformative exchange across all disciplines. The foundation awards approximately sixty fellowships per year to individuals doing creative or scholarly work in the following disciplines: archaeology, architecture, classics, dance, film/video, history, landscape architecture, literature, music, philosophy, theater, and visual arts.
Each year the David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies (DRCLAS) selects a number of distinguished academics (Visiting Scholars) and professionals (Fellows) who wish spend one or two semesters at Harvard working on their own research and writing projects. Visiting Scholars and Fellows are selected competitively on the basis of the applicant's qualifications, the quality of the applicant's research plans, and the relevance of both to the Center's mission and objectives.