It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* Education, Kinesiology & Health Promotion: Books & Lit Reviews
Here are the links to your tools for finding books, articles and more.
Consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of ERIC document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 1,000 journals. Both files provide abstracts. In addition, ERIC now contains over 2,200 ERIC Digest records that feature the full-text of the original document. Also provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Find open access scholarly articles using a friendly Google interface. UK users can set up "Library Links" in your Google settings to identify your affiliation with UK Libraries, giving you additional online fulltext articles based on your institutional affiliation. Ask Us if you need help.
Provides full-text for thousands of business journals and other sources, peer-reviewed business publications, trade journals/general business magazines, books (most indexed by chapter), industry reports and market research reports.
International journal and monograph indexing covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, etc. Please Note: Limited to four simultaneous users.
MEDLINE includes citations and abstracts on such topics as microbiology, delivery of health care (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and preclinical sciences), nutrition, pharmacology, and environmental health.
Index to disability and rehabilitation literature, covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.
Finding encyclopedias and encyclopedia articles
Easy to skip this step, but worth your time... Find concise overviews and bibliographies.
As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day with over a million full-text dissertations. The database offers full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works.
Search the scanned text. View books if public domain. Click "Find in a library" to locate a copy of the print version of material not in the public domain. HathiTrust handles many books unavailable via Google Books.
To download e-books you must use Adobe Digital Editions. (Please note: Although ver. 4 is available, there are currently privacy concerns with that version. We advise you use ver. 3 until the privacy issues are resolved. More information.)
Create an Adobe account (if nec.). During your loan period your book might be saved in Documents / My Digital Editions.
Group V: Practical Living and Vocational Studies (expires in June 2016)
Group VI: Arts & Humanities, ESL, World Languages (expired)
Approaches to searching:
Your own keywords; use of wildcards and boolean combinations can improve your results. Use this worksheet for thinking up keywords.
The database's index terms: retrieve results with precision; works well when your keywords might match many synonyms. Look for these terms in the descriptors or subjects field of a full record. Search for these terms in a database's thesaurus or browse for them in a field's index.
An article's cited references: no need to think up keywords: find the record for a good article then search to find articles that have cited it; find related articles (searches for refs in common). Web of Science Core Collection is the best database for this.
Ask other readers: ask your professors, e-mail authors, hang out at conferences.
Browsing: good old-fashioned technique; related books tend to be shelved together; also through serendipity you might find useful sources.