It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* Introduction to Business Resources: Business News
This guide contains information on how to do research in the field of business.
Daily newspaper with an emphasis on coverage of the financial world. Also includes coverage of politics, arts, lifestyle, and more. Some, but not all, of the stories are available without a subscription to the online edition. Portions of the International Editions are available as well.
Full-Text coverage of over 600 newspapers. Include a subset entitled "Major News Sources" that includes the Washington Post, Chicago Tribune and others, all of which can be searched simultaneously. Also includes a subset entitled "Access Business Sources" that allows for simultaneous searching of a large number of international business newspapers.
Click "News Pages" for full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Newsweek, Business Week, Barron's, Forbes, and Fortune. Click "Search" to search thousands of regional, national, and international business news sources. (Includes coverage of international editions of the Wall Street Journal.)
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
The Wall Street Journal Eastern Edition and Online Edition
Wall Street Journal Online: Thanks to the Institute for the Study of free Enterprise and the Student Government Association, all University of Kentucky students, faculty, and staff have free access to the Wall Street Journal's website (www.wsj.com) and the app. To activate your complimentary subscription, visit wsj.com/UKentucky. Once you create a user name and password, you will be able to sign on to the paper's website and apps.
The Periodicals Desk on the 2nd Floor of W.T. Young Library has an extensive collection of international, national, and, especially, Kentucky newspapers on microfilm. Print indexes for some newspapers are kept in the Reference section in the west wing of William T. Young Library. Consult InfoKat Discovery, the UK Libraries' catalog, to see if we have holdings for a particular title. Also, check the UK Libraries Microfilm Holdings Database for Kentucky titles. Some other useful sources include:
Searchable facsimile edition of The Economist, published weekly since 1843. In 8,000 issues and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers and a selection of exportable financial tables.