WRDS offers several databases for business data and analytics. It is available to UK graduate students and faculty, and you must register for an account with your uky.edu email address.
Accessible databases include:
American Hospital Association Trial: AHA Data provides easy, streamlined access to multiple data sets that cover demographic, operational, financial and IT characteristics of the nation’s hospitals.
AuditAnalytics: Audit Analytics provides detailed research on over 150,000 active audits and more than 10,000 accounting firms.
The Bank Regulatory: Database contains five databases for regulated depository financial institutions. These databases provide accounting data for bank holding companies, commercial banks, savings banks, and savings and loans institutions.
Fama-French Portfolios: Constructed from the intersections of two portfolios formed on size, as measured by market equity (ME), and three portfolios using the ratio of book equity to market equity (BE/ME) as a proxy for value.
Federal Reserve Bank: Contains three databases collected from Federal Reserve Banks: two of them come from Reports published from the Federal Reserve Board; the other one comes from the Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia.
Financial Ratio Suite: A web based engine that delivers over 70 pre-calculated financial ratios for all U.S. companies across eight different categories.
IBES: Provides both summary and individual analyst forecasts of company earnings, cash flows, and other important financial items, as well as buy-sell-hold recommendations.
Infogroup Trial: Research and analyze community growth and market trends.
ISS-Incentive Lab: Detailed, comparable data on incentive awards, including performance metrics, performance goals and payout structures on all incentive awards to determine if pay practices are consistent with peers and industry averages.
Markit Trial: Provides users accurate, transparent data on credit default swap (CDS) and features timely information analysis to reduce uncertainty and manage risk.
MSCI: This corporate governance historical dataset (formerly GMI Ratings) is updated annually and contains approximately 225 unique data points organized into four primary categories for approximately 3000 companies.
MSRB: The primary regulator of the $3.7 trillion municipal security market, the MSRB collects and makes publicly available through its Electronic Municipal Market Access.
Option Metrics Trial: access to the highest-quality options data for use in empirical research and/or econometric studies to develop and test derivatives trading strategies.
PACAP: Creates, maintains, and distributes comprehensive, computerized databases which track capital markets data for eight Pacific-Basin countries on a systematic basis.
Penn World Tables: Provides national income accounts-type of variables converted to international prices.
PHLX: One of the most actively traded sector index options offered by any exchange and serves as a widely quoted benchmark of the high-tech industry.
RavenPack News Analytics Trial: Provides real-time structured sentiment, relevance and novelty data.
Research Quotient: Analyze and measure the effectiveness of a firm's research quotient.
SAS Visual Analytics: Provides an interactive platform for analytics visualization, enabling you to identify patterns and relationships in data.
Sustainalytics Trial: 50 random companies and includes all data points across the full history available.
Thomson Reuters: A global provider of data, analysis and information tools offering the most comprehensive range of indispensable, market-leading services and customizable solutions.
TRACE: FINRA's over-the-counter (OTC) corporate bond market real-time price dissemination service.
World Indices: Country total return indices (with dividends). 40+ countries.
WRDS SEC Analytics Suite Trial: A clean set of readability and sentiment measures for every SEC filing since 1994.
Zacks Trial: Analyze analysts’ forecasts and their revisions, price targets and recommendations.
Encyclopedias provide an excellent source for background information or a way to quickly learn about a topic. Encyclopedias are usually written by experts in the field and provide brief, authoritative information on their subjects. Most encyclopedia articles also include bibliographies for further, more in-depth reading. UK Libraries owns numerous encyclopedias (both print and electronic) dedicated to business and economics subjects. Here are a few commonly used ones:
The University of Kentucky Special Collections Research Center has numerous business-related primary source material available for study.
The following sources can be used to search for information on almost any subject, including economics:
If you need help manipulating or analyzing your data, see Information Technology's Statistical Software page.
Datasets Available: UK libraries has several sources for datasets in the business and financial areas.