Newspapers: Historic Newspapers

Newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides and books from London, the British Isles and the colonies gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817): "the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media." The present digital collection totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.

Consists of 19th century newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent 19th century Britain. Includes national and regional newspapers as well as publications from Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

Digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles from hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.

Featuring 270 newspapers published in 36 states.

Full-text access to colonial and early American history, with titles from 23 states and D.C. Also covers large collection of African American publications. With issues from over 700 titles (for many titles the holdings are scattered); includes Kentucky titles.

Scanned and searchable full-text images from over 1,000 American magazines and journals, including 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800 and 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras. Coverage includes popular and scholarly as well as regional and niche publications.

Access to scanned newspaper pages from 1880-1910 (currently from newspapers from California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia) and information about American newspapers published between 1690-present

Full-text, mostly late 18th/early 19th century, covering colonial and early American history, with titles from 23 states and DC.

Search newspapers back 200 years. Generate timelines of matching stories.Sources include Time.com, Factiva, HighBeam Research, Guardian Unlimited, AccessMyLibrary.com (Thomson Gale), and LexisNexis/Nexis Uni.

Very selective index to Lexington, KY newspaper articles pertaining to significant people, places, events, churches, businesses and organizations in Lexington and Fayette County, Kentucky.

Kentucky's National Digital Newspaper Program (KY-NDNP) website offers comprehensive lists of the University of Kentucky's digitized historic newspapers available in both the Kentucky Digital Library and the Library of Congress' Chronicling America. The website also provides an extensive "how-to" on historic newspaper digitization per the NDNP specifications.