Resources for UK Libraries’ Faculty: Publishing

UK Libraries does not follow the "Publish or Perish" axiom, but publishing is highly encouraged and well supported. Many of our faculty have published peer-reviewed journal articles, book reviews, newsletters and blog entries, book chapters, or entire books. Those publishers and more can be found here.

Select Publishers: Books and/or Chapters

• Bloomsbury Libraries Unlimited
• University Press of Kentucky
• Rowman & Littlefield
• SAA Books
• Springer
• McFarland & Company

Select Publishers: Peer Review Journals

• ALA Editions
• Archival Issues
• Archival Outlook
• Code4Lib
• College & Research Libraries 
• IFLA Journal
• Journal of Business & Finance Librarianship
• Journal of Library Administration
• Journal of Library Innovation
• Kentucky Libraries Journal
• Library Leadership & Management
• Reference & User Services Quarterly
• The American Archivist
• The Oral History Review

Select Publishers: Other

• Appalachian Curator
• Kentucky Council on Archives (KCA) Newsletter
• Midwest Archives (MAC) Newsletter

There are several Library Faculty well versed in publishing and available for consultation and publishing mentorship to other UK Library Faculty. Some are authors, some are editors, and some are both. Don't hesitate to reach out to them if you have questions concerning publishing, publishers, or writing for publication.

• Jen Bartlett, author and editor
• Stacey Greenwell, author and editor

Some UK Library faculty are writers. Some UK Library faculty have been, and are currently, editors of peer-review journals or carry other editorial duties within and outside the University.  Presented here are a selection of more recent publications from UK Library faculty.

• Bartlett, Jennifer A. "Knowledge Management: A Practical Guide for Librarians." Rowman & Littlefield. 2021.
• Dorpinghaus, Sarah, Cory Lampert, Rebecca Pattillo and Kyna Herzinger. "Maximizing Good: An Inquiry-Based Approach to Minimal Description for Online Archives." Published in The Lighting the Way Handbook: Case Studies, Guidelines, and Emergent Futures for Archival Discovery and Delivery. Mark A. Matienzo & Dinah Handel, (Eds.). IMLS. 2021
• Greenwell, Stacey, G. Edward Evans. "Library Programs and Services: the Fundamentals." Bloomsbury. 2023.
• Jones, Reinette F. "Library Service to African Americans in Kentucky, from the Reconstruction Era to the 1960s." McFarland & Co. 2001
• Sharp, Debbie, Beth Fuchs, Peter Hesseldenz, and Karyn Hinkle. "Merged learning outcomes for information literacy: A David Letterman-style Top Ten List." College & Research Libraries. 2022.
• Strandmark, Matthew. "Kentucky's Uncommon Man." University Press of Kentucky. 2023.
• Strandmark, Matthew. "Appalachian Collection Development Initiatives at the University of Kentucky." Appalachian Curator. 2023.
• Street, Carol. “Indiana Architecture X 3D: Archival Encounters of the 3-D Kind.” Archival Issues. 2014. 
• Suchanek, Jeffrey S. "The Coal Miner Who Became Governor." University Press of Kentucky. 2023.
• Terry, Kopana. "Fifty Years of Appalachia at the Nunn Center for Oral History." Appalachian Curator. 2023.

The University of Kentucky leans on Scholars@UK, "a database of research expertise from colleges, departments, disciplines and centers & institutes at UK."  "For more than 150 years, the University of Kentucky has pursued interdisciplinary research and creative efforts to address challenges and disparities faced by the citizens of the Commonwealth and beyond... Explore unit research output (publications, creative work), sponsored grants & contracts, and individual scholar profiles. Scholars@UK contains a rich set of metrics including citation counts, altmetrics, network analysis, and collaboration information."

"UKnowledge is a digital collection of unique scholarship created by University of Kentucky faculty, staff, students, departments, research centers, and administration. As a strategic initiative launched by UK Libraries to support multidisciplinary collaboration, UKnowledge is managed by specialists and sustained by dedicated funding. It captures, stores, organizes, and provides open and stable worldwide access to UK's intellectual capital, and also facilitates reuse of deposited materials to the extent warranted by copyright law or by the licensing terms of the concerned materials. Members of UK's academic community are encouraged to contribute their scholarship to UKnowledge."