It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Totaling more than 400,000 titles, this collection came to the New York Public Library in 1966 from the estate of George Goodwin (1900-1966), a radio station director who developed the Tune-Dex, a comprehensive 25,000 card catalog index of popular songs.
The sheet music collection of almost 22,000 pieces is housed at Mississippi State University and includes popular tunes dating as far back as 1865. Special collections are devoted to ragtime, blues, movie tunes, foxtrots, popular music, show tunes, Irving Berlin, war songs and specialty.
Housed at Brown University, the Collection's focus is on the Yiddish-language musical stage and includes many photographs of performers, composers, and scenes. The Collection totals 2,000 items, of which 700 pre-1923 titles have been digitized.
The Public Domain Song Anthology by David Berger and Chuck Israels is a collection of 348 popular songs with modern and traditional harmonization for both study and performance. This open educational resource consists of songs in the US public domain and is free for students and performers to use, adapt, remix, and share. The songs, many of which are at risk of being forgotten, are free of copyright restrictions and are available in multiple formats to promote greater usage and dissemination.