Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

* English Literature & Language: Articles

Research guide for literature in the English language, the study of the English language, and guides for courses in the English Department at the University of Kentucky.

Ask a Librarian

Citing Sources

How to Get Full-Text

When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to links for the full-text of the article or let you know that we do not have electronic full-text for that article.

If the full-text is not available, you can search InfoKat Discovery for a hardcopy of the article or request an interlibrary loan (ILL), if needed.

Frequently Asked Questions about View Now

Having trouble? Ask Us for help.

Literature Online

Literature Online is the premier database for English. Need help searching? Check out the Guide to Using Literature Online.
NOTE:  As of January 2020, LIterature Online no longer contains citations from the MLA International Bibliography.  The MLAIB is now available from EBSCO as a stand-alone product -- see link below.  

Other Literature and Language Databases

Related Humanities Databases

General Databases with significant literature content

Cited Reference Searching

The Cited Reference search in Web of Science Core Collection or Academic Search Complete searches the footnotes of journal articles.  This is very helpful when you need to track down the references to a particular author or article.