It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* English Literature & Language: More Resources
Research guide for literature in the English language, the study of the English language, and guides for courses in the English Department at the University of Kentucky.
The University of Kentucky Libraries has access to a rich and varied collection of electronic books and databases focused on literature and the English language. You may discover the perfect resource for your research by browsing through this lengthy list.
The links below will direct you to a page describing the particular information resource with a link to access the resource if you choose.
Not finding what you need? Just ask us and we'll be happy to assist.
Searchable full-text collection of 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. Key figures covered include Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Eliza Haywood, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, Laurence Sterne and Jonathan Swift. In addition to a scanned version of Sterne's Tristram Shandy, the collection also contains two different editions of Richardson's Clarissa and Pamela, and of Swift's Gulliver's Travels.
Searchable full-text of Eighteenth Century Women Playwrights. General editor, Derek Hughes. 6 volumes. London: Pickering and Chatto, 2001. Includes plays by Delarivier Manley, Eliza Haywood, Mary Pix, Susanna Centlivre, Elizabeth Griffith, Hannah Cowley and Elizabeth Inchbald. The introductory matter for each playwright includes biographical information.
A collection of 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children's literature.
Includes 50,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
Collection of more than 600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.
Contains more than 1,100 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth. Includes plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, and temperance dialogues. Major dramatists featured include Clyde Fitch, Augustin Daly, David Belasco, James Herne, and Joaquin Miller.
Presents both full and partial texts of speeches with accompanying audio clips (Mp3 format) on a wide variety of subjects. Includes a database of over 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events. Includes audio clips from well-known speeches, movies, sermons, popular songs, and media events by politicians, actors, preachers, athletes, singers, and other public figures.
Cross-search Readex databases: Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; American Broadsides and Ephemera, 1760-1900; and Early American Newspapers.
Searchable full-text of The Collected Letters of Joanna Baillie. Edited by Judith Bailey Slagle. 2 volumes. Madison, N.J.: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press; London; Cranbury, N.J.: Associated University Presses, 1999.
Online version of the nine volume set from Yale University Press, 1955-1991. Provides nearly 40,000 references to the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930, including holding libraries of specific editions.
Full-text of stories, fables and folktales, including previously uncollected works and unpublished manuscripts by a wide variety of authors. Also includes complete runs of selected literary magazines that feature short stories, such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon, as well as many early North American black-owned and edited journals and newspapers.
Full-text of Bluestocking Feminism: writings of the Bluestocking Circle, 1738-1785. General editor, Gary Kelly; volume editors, Elizabeth Eger [et al.]. 6 volumes. London: Pickering & Chatto, 1999. Includes material by Elizabeth Carter, Catherine Talbot, Hester Mulso Chapone, Anna Seward, Sarah Scott & Clara Reeve.
Burney, Fanny. The Early Journals and Letters of Fanny Burney. Edited by Lars E. Troide and Stewart J. Cooke. 3 volumes. Oxford University Press, 1987-94.
Burney, Fanny. The Journals and Letters of Fanny Burney. Edited by Joyce Hemlow, Curtis D. Cecil, Althea Douglas, Patricia Boutilier, Edward A. Bloom, Lillian D. Bloom, Peter Hughes, Patricia Hawkins and Warren Derry. 12 volumes. Clarendon Press, 1972-84.
Full-text of English, American and Canadian poetry, prose and dramatic works. Each literature collection has been developed with its own specialist editorial board to advise on the selection of texts and editions. Editorial policies may therefore vary from collection to collection; however, the guiding principles of authority, comprehensiveness and inclusiveness have been applied consistently. The general policy has always been to include either an authoritative collected edition for each author or first editions of individual works as appropriate.
The complete edition of Coleridge's letters, augmented by his early family letters and the letters of his son, Hartley, all from Oxford University Press. The database contains the following works: Coleridge - the early family letters. Edited with an introduction by James Engell. Oxford University Press, 1994. Collected Letters of Samuel Taylor Coleridge. Edited by Earl Leslie Griggs, 6 volumes. Oxford: Clarendon Press 1956-1971; rpt. Oxford University Press, 2000. The Letters of Hartley Coleridge. Edited by Grace Evelyn Griggs and Earl Leslie Griggs. London: Oxford University Press, 1936.
Provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers while simultaneously satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers, and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
Over 36,000 texts covering life in 17th- and 18th-century America, e.g., agriculture and auctions, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft. Based on the American Bibliography by Charles Evans, enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement. As of July 13, 2010, includes the Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800.
Digital facsimile page images of books, pamphlets, newspapers, and manuscripts of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America as well as works in English printed elsewhere. From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection contains the texts of about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard and Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Coverage includes English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Includes eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, 28 separate contemporary printings of individual plays and poems, selected apocrypha and related works. Also contains more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, including the whole of Bell's Acting Edition of Shakespeare's Plays (1774).
Most every 18th century book printed in England, over 125,000 titles, over 25 million pages. Full-text, fully searchable. This "Long Century" gave birth to several major revolutions: the intellectual, industrial, French and American revolutions. During this Age of Enlightenment publishers issued books on an endless variety of subjects. During this century literacy spread widely and with great passion readers devoured books.
2008 ed. that includes two new volumes of research and scholarly content in the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. Includes contributions from non-English speaking and non-western parts of the world. Special emphasis on multicultural and bilingual education.
Extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language—as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world. Coverage is from the beginnings of print to 1800 including all recorded English monographs printed between 1475 and 1700.
Encyclopedic guide to literary theory and discourse, including a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most prominent figures, schools, and movements. It includes entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Master index to the major literature products published by Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. Provides access to biographical and critical information.
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Explores the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. Provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past, and traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The Oxford Text Archive holds several thousand electronic texts and linguistic corpora, in a variety of languages. Its holdings include electronic editions of works by individual authors, standard reference works such as the Bible and mono-/bilingual dictionaries, and a range of language corpora. The Oxford Text Archive does not produce digital resources, and we rely upon deposits from the wider community as the primary source of high-quality materials.
Searchable full-text of The Piozzi Letters: The Correspondence of Hester Lynch Piozzi, 1784-1821 (formerly Mrs. Thrale). Edited by Edward A. Bloom and Lillian D. Bloom. 6 volumes. Newark: University of Delaware Press; London: Associated University Presses, 1989-2002.
Searchable full-text of The collected letters of John Millington Synge. Volumes I: 1871-1907. Edited by Ann Saddlemyer. Oxford [Oxfordshire] : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1983; and The collected letters of John Millington Synge. Volume II: 1907-1909. Edited by Ann Saddlemyer. Oxford [Oxfordshire] : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1984.
Searchable database of women writers and artists of color in North America, including Asian, Black, Latina, and Native women. Each individual author page contains biographical and bibliographical information, images, and links to other websites on the author or artist. The entry pages can be searched with the following criteria: by name, by place of birth or residence, by significant dates, and by ethnic/racial identity.
Provides annotated entries for books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electrical media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare. The scope is international.