It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* English Literature & Language: Linguistics
Research guide for literature in the English language, the study of the English language, and guides for courses in the English Department at the University of Kentucky.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. Coverage includes phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, descriptive an historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
Covers a broad range of subjects. Indexes over 8,000 publications; almost 7,000 are scholarly journals (3,900 in direct full-text); full-text available for issues of almost 5,000 publications overall. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. Includes an Image Collection.
Combines into one resource Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Five-volume eBook set containing 124 essays covering a range of approaches and methodologies to the key phenomena in phonological research. Focuses on phenomena and case studies to highlight historical and ongoing debates in the field. Includes audio files and links to external web content, as well as interactive cross-referencing.
Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.
How to Get Full-Text
When searching for journal articles, you will notice the View Now button on many of your search results. Clicking on the View Now button will lead you to links for the full-text of the article or let you know that we do not have electronic full-text for that article.