Article Databases
These technical databases are useful for research in a variety of science and engineering disciplines.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Primary article database for electrical, computer engineering and computer science fields. Crosses all fields of applications.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Major database for engineering, sciences, humanities, health and medical literature.
- BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts/RRM This link opens in a new window BIOSIS Previews and Biological Abstracts encompass the entire field of life sciences and provides comprehensive coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research. They include traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine, biotechnology, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering are also included.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary science database containing worldwide scholarly research.
SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar is the primary chemistry articles database. When using SciFinder for the first time, you need to register to get a username and password. You must use your UK email account to get access. Below are two links - the first for first-time users and the second for registered users that will let you go directly to SciFinder Scholar.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Research Tools
Research Tools
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) This link opens in a new window Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Find out the journal impact factor here!
- EndNote EndNote is a powerful software application used to manage personal databases of citations from sources such as journals, books, or websites. EndNote can input records from online bibliographic databases; organize references, images and PDFs; and be used to create bibliographies and figure lists. It is a valuable tool for anyone maintaining large research databases or publishing frequently. The University of Kentucky has a site license and makes the software available to download for free: https://download.uky.edu/.
What is a database?
Why use a database when you can use Google?
While Google can give you many scholarly articles, it can't refer you to the many additional article references inside a commercial database - and not everything is freely available on the Web.
A commercial database is a collection of materials, in most cases articles from journals or magazines. Some databases include chapters in books, conference proceedings, engineering standards, technical reports and other materials.
Although some databases have full-text articles, most contain bibliographic information about the article along with a short summary, or abstract. The information generally includes the author(s), each author's employer, article title, source of the information - journal name or book title, date of publication, number of pages, unique publication numbers such as an ISSN for a journal or an ISBN for a book.
If full-text is available, there will be a PDF or HTML link; you may also discover full-text from other sources using the button that says "View Now UK." Databases can be searched by keywords, author names, and other methods. Use the research tutorials to learn more about database searching.