Researching Social Policy
Researching public policies and laws at the federal, state, and local levels is an important skill for social workers and researchers. This page includes the most common resources for finding public policies related to social work topics. See the Public Policy & Administration research guide for more resources, or contact Margie Ruppel, Social Sciences Librarian, for more in-depth assistance.
An Example of Policy Research
Lagana-Riordan, C., & Aguilar, J. P. (2009). What's Missing from No Child Left Behind? A policy analysis from a social work perspective. Children & Schools, 31(3), 135-144. https://doi.org/10.1093/cs/31.3.135
Core Resources for Policy Analysis
- PAIS Index
This link opens in a new window
Indexed coverage of issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources, including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The database includes a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate. - Social Science Premium Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
- Think Tank SearchA Google Custom Search of 1,200+ think tanks and research centers from advocacy groups, governments, universities, and non-governmental organizations. Partisan and non-partisan think tanks are included.
- Legislative Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Federal legislative history service that makes available compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. The histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking, including the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. - HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 192 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs and available at an affordable price, the wealth of material allows academic institutions, government agencies, law firms, court systems, corporations, and other organizations access to authoritative, true-to-print digital material without the hassle or cost of using multiple research databases.
Every document across HeinOnline’s 100+ databases is an exact facsimile of its print counterpart, providing access to original, authoritative sources as well as the ease and speed that accompanies online searching.
Policy Briefs
A policy brief is a concise summary of research, policies, and possible courses of action for a given issue. They help you learn about the scope of a problem, and the policy's impacts.
- Policy and Issue Briefs | Poverty SolutionsSummarizes key academic research findings and highlights important implications for public policy. From the University of Michigan.
Policy-related Reports & Publications
- IssueLabResearch reports, whitepapers, evaluations, case studies, issue briefs, etc. created by social sector organizations.
- Social Work Policy Institute | NASWReports and action briefs on issues related to the work of social workers.
- CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service)Research reports produced by the United States Congress. Covers major policy issues from a variety of perspectives. Analysis of current policies and presents the impact of proposed policies.
Finding eBooks and Books for Overviews
Finding Laws, Bills, and Cases Impacting Policy: Federal and State
- CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service)Research reports produced by the United States Congress. Covers major policy issues from a variety of perspectives. Analysis of current policies and presents the impact of proposed policies.
- CRS Reports Collection | University of North Texas LibrariesSearchable collection of CRS Reports.
- EveryCRSReport.comEvery CRS report available at crs.gov, plus 5,100 archived CRS reports from the University of North Texas Libraries Government Documents Department CRS reports collection.
- HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a premier online research platform that provides more than 192 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and much more. Composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs and available at an affordable price, the wealth of material allows academic institutions, government agencies, law firms, court systems, corporations, and other organizations access to authoritative, true-to-print digital material without the hassle or cost of using multiple research databases.
Every document across HeinOnline’s 100+ databases is an exact facsimile of its print counterpart, providing access to original, authoritative sources as well as the ease and speed that accompanies online searching. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
- GovInfoOfficial publications from all three branches of the federal government, such as the federal budget, U.S. Code, U.S. court opinions, presidential papers, public and private laws, Code of Federal Regulations, bills, hearings, Congressional Record, committee prints, and other documents. Provided by the Government Publications Office.
- United States CodeGeneral and permanent laws of the United States. Organized/codified by subject.
- Legislative Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Federal legislative history service that makes available compilations of digital full-text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. The histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking, including the public law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. - ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents of congressional publications.
- Kentucky Bill WatchTrack proposed legislation during the Kentucky Legislative Session. Search by keyword, sponsor, or bill number.
- Kentucky State Cabinet for Health and Family ServicesInformation about CHFS programs such as medicaid, child care assistance, adoption and foster care, Insurance assistance, SNAP, public health, county fact sheets, and more.
- NCSL Bill Tracking DatabaseSearch and browse proposed legislation in all 50 states. Updated weekly. Search by subtopics, year, status, or keyword.
- State Statutes Search | Child Welfare Information GatewaySee statutes in each state relevant to child abuse and neglect, child welfare, and adoption. From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep archives and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language news services.
Datasets
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
- This link opens in a new window
Access to social science data files, including coverage of such topics as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior/attitudes, terrorism, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse. Direct downloading is available. Registration with a MyData account is required for most data file downloads.
- Data.govMachine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Filtering by location is available.
Research Organizations, Think Tanks, and Advocacy Groups (select)
Nonprofit organizations and think tanks monitor policy in particular areas, and produce policy reports and research. TIP: View each organization's list of publications, which will lead you to research, policy papers, statistics, etc. It is also wise to read each organization's "About" section, as they may have specific goals or biases.
- Think Tank SearchA Google Custom Search of 1,200+ think tanks and research centers from advocacy groups, governments, universities, and non-governmental organizations. Partisan and non-partisan think tanks are included.
- American Policy DirectoryList of think tanks and advocacy groups by topic. Analysis and advocacy from all perspectives on U.S. national public policy.
- Social Policy InstituteWashington University in St. Louis research institute focused on systems-level understanding of policy problems in health, education, housing, and financial security. Research reports, working papers, and policy highlights.
- RAND CorporationA research organization that recommends solutions to social issues such as families, literacy, social equity, the workplace, and health.
- Brookings InstitutionEvidence-based research on common policy issues such as housing, children, crime, human rights, race, education, and health care.
- Center for Law and Social PolicyNonpartisan, nonprofit organization focused on policy solutions for people with low incomes (health, mental health, income) and racial equity.
- Urban InstituteNonprofit research organization that produces research and data on housing, race and equity, health, justice, and education.
- Center for the Study of Social PolicyNon-profit organization that promotes public policies on racial equity, youth, LGBTQ+, poverty, strong communities, immigration, child welfare, and learning.
- Institute for Policy Research (IPR)Hosted by Northwestern University, IPR is an interdisciplinary public policy research center. Research areas include children and families, communities, urban policy, poverty, and inequality.
- MDRCOrganization that produces research on P-12 education, higher education, at-risk young people, families, children, work and income, welfare reform, housing, criminal and juvenile justice, health, and justice.
Health Issues:
- Johns Hopkins Institute for Health and Social PolicyUniversity research center focused on translating research findings into practical policy guidance. Research briefs, expert testimony, on food systems, housing, neighborhoods, and health.
- Kaiser Family FoundationNonpartisan organization that compiles research on health policy, such as mental health, uninsured, racial equity and health policy, women's health, and health reform.
- Guttmacher InstituteResearch and policy organization that produces research on pregnancy, STIs, HIV, abortion, and contraception.
- Mental Health AmericaOrganization that compiles statistics and research, and advocates for federal and state policies to improve mental health in all facets of life.
Women & Gender:
- Institute for Women's Policy ResearchNonpartisan, nonprofit research organization. Priority areas are the status of women, reproductive health, student parents, race, ethnicity, gender, and economic, security, mobility and equality.
- National Partnership for Women & FamiliesNonprofit advocacy organization that focuses on policy issues affecting women (reproductive health, maternity leave, fair pay, etc).
- Guttmacher InstituteResearch and policy organization that produces research on pregnancy, STIs, HIV, abortion, and contraception.
Children & Youth:
- Annie E. Casey FoundationPrivate philanthropy focused on children and teenagers' educational, economic, social, and health outcomes. Produces the Kids Count Data Book.
- National Center for Children in PovertyNonpartisan organization that researches child poverty, adolescent health and youth development, healthy development, low-wage work, and children's mental health. Easily compare states on immigration, mental health policies, basic needs budgeting, and employment benefits.
- State Statutes Search | Child Welfare Information GatewaySee statutes in each state relevant to child abuse and neglect, child welfare, and adoption. From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Immigration:
- Immigration & Migration | Pew Research CenterNonpartisan fact tank providing statistics and research about issues, attitudes, and trends. Does not take policy positions.
- Center for Immigration Studies"Independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit research organization" and think tank devoted to multiple aspects of immigration in the U.S.
PPT Slides
- Policy Analysis Information SourcesExplanation of core resources for finding policy analysis and legislation information.
Background Information about Social Issues
Find background information about social trends, policy, laws, cases, and issues.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America by
The Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America is a unique reference book that provides readers with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Since many themes and issues are similar in the three nations, entries provide comparative information about common as well as distinctive concerns and developments. Significant events, influential people, legislation, social problems, and societal responses are described in detail. Editors include specialists in the social welfare history of each nation, and they have collaborated with scholars from a variety of academic disciplines to prepare entries of varying length addressing these issues. Included in each entry are suggestions for further reading that will guide readers to the rich resources available for learning about the history of North American social welfare. The Encyclopedia also provides cross-references for important topics.
Call Number: eBook / onlineISBN: 0761925848
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by
Oxford University Press and The National Association of Social Workers are proud to announce that a new, completely updated, revised and expanded 20th edition of this essential work is now available in paperback. The 400 articles in this 4-volume set covers all aspects of social, work frompractice and interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, to social policy and history.This new edition of the Encylcopedia includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, andtrauma and disaster. Each thoughtful article is written and signed by a top academic or social work practitioner and includes a bibliography for further reading. For even further ease of use, all volumes are fully cross-referenced and includes a complete Index.
Call Number: eBook / online
- CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Database that covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups.
Public Opinion
- Pew Research CenterNonpartisan fact tank that contains public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis, and other data-driven social science research. Pew does not take policy positions.
- Roper iPollProvided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll contains poll data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Questions, charts, demographic crosstabs, and dataset downloads are immediately available.
Spending Analysis
- Congressional Budget Office (CBO)The CBO is a nonpartisan agency that produces independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Browse Topics such as housing, retirement, education, poverty, income insecurity, social security, income distribution, health care, veteran's issues, etc.
- Center on Budget and Policy PrioritiesNonpartisan research and policy institute focused on analyzing federal, state, and local budget choices involving housing, social security, food assistance, immigration, poverty, and income. Coordinates the State Priorities Partnership, a network of policy and advocacy organizations across the states.
- USAspending.govUSAspending is the official open data source of federal spending information,
including information about federal awards such as contracts, grants, and loans.
Accountability for Taxpayer Dollars
- U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO)The GAO provides auditing, evaluation, and investigative services for Congress. Topics include agriculture, business regulation, education, employment, energy, health care, housing, justice and law enforcement, space and more. View by Topic.
Evaluating Think Tanks
- Writing about think tanks and using their research: A cautionary tip sheet: This is written for journalists and is slightly outdated, but contains useful tips for evaluating think tanks.
- Sourcewatch
Maintained by the Center for Media and Democracy. A good place to find additional information about a think tank.
- Wikipedia List of U.S. Think Tanks
Use to get an overview of the issues that a think tank is discussing and what social, policy or political biases that it brings to the discussion. Be sure to view the history page to determine if there are disputes about the information on the page.